LIVING SPACE

“If you take that space,” said Pebble, “I will crush you. That space is mine.”
“If you try to crush me,” said Grass, “I will dig my roots deeply, grow strong, and engulf you. That space is mine.”
Pebble rushed towarde the space, but Grass was quicker. He was peeping  through the ground long before Pebble had hoisted his unwieldy body over it.
But pebble made it in the end.
They fought and quarrelled. Time passed.
One day, pebble said “Your blades keep me warm, and I protect you from the jaws of hungry cows.
From then on, they lived in harmony.

© Jane Paterson Basil

Leave a Reply

