EMPTY PROMISES

Abstract_Wallpaper_1_by_Zaxin

Today I saw an inspirational banner on this wonderful blog: http://fromstruggletostrength.com/
The banner said: “Happiness is an inside job. Don’t assign anyone else that much power over your life.” (hplyrikz.com)
It gave me the idea for this little ditty.

You gave me a dream I could count on
But I had to count lower than 1.
You took up the dream I was dreaming
As soon as my dreaming was done,
So once I’d lost all hope of winning
You scooped me back up with your tongue.
You gabbed me the gift of believing
That what’s lost can however be won,
You allowed me the merest glimpse of the light
Then you wrapped your dark cloak round the sun.

© Jane Paterson Basil

7 thoughts on “EMPTY PROMISES

  1. I love it. I reminds me of the promises I kept making to myself and then stealing them back every time I used. In the end it was dark and lonely. I stole my own sun. Beautiful. Thank you for adding a link to my page also. I appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You made me read my poem again, and I realised that there are so many things that it could be aboout. For many years I thought i was a clever wordsmith, but now I realise that I am merely a channel through which words flow, and I feel honoured.
    Thank you for reblogging. I hope those words impart strength to your followers x

    Like

Leave a Reply

