In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Twenty-Five.”

Today’s daily prompt is to write a post that is missing one letter. As an extra challenge it can be a vowel that choose to send to coventry.

BeFunky_Alphabet splash.jpg

Twenty-six letters in the alphabet
free to take, no debt to pay
to shape into words and take away
in my head or on paper; however I wish
woven into a tasty dish,
of sentences, paragraphs and chapters divine
a thrilling nibble on every line
to entertain, to please or give pain
or even assist with calming the brain
zany jokes or razor sharp wit
in careless style or artistically clipped
fact or fiction, short or long
in prose or poem, in speech or song
Let’s celebrate letters and words on this day
for the gift of providing something to say.

all of the letters are in this rhyme
except two; one to save for another time
while the other one needs it to make a word
so proper spelling will be deferred.
I’ll qell my qalms to manage my qest
and with twenty-five letters I’ll pass the test.

© Jane Paterson Basil

25 thoughts on “Passing the test

  1. I give up! I thought it was u and xx, but they’re both there. So give over. What are they? Post me a note on my About page so as not to spoil it for anyone. That was frickin’ amazing, girl! You are so good at this stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s not there now! I’m really glad you mentioned it. That’s really funny – I mis-spell three word beginning with Q, so that I can avoid the letter U, and then I put ‘succeed’ in the same line, thereby ruining the whole effect! Brilliant!

          Like

    1. You were right. I got over-confident and slipped up on the home run, with ‘succeed’. Thank you for pointing it out.
      It was so much fun to do that now i’m writing a poem without a single a or e in it.

      Like

            1. Pinch them them off someone! Your need is greater! I rely on you to check my posts for stray vowels!
              Although I’ve tired of the vowel game now. Honestly – a poem with no A, E, O or U in it? Thit’s jist stipid!

              Liked by 1 person

              1. LOLOLOL! That didn’t even go over my head! I’m learning! You have a wonderful sense of humor considering the struggles you’ve been through. I’m drawn to that light in you. I’m so glad we bumped into each other on here. You’re like a female Plato’s Groove.

                Liked by 1 person

                1. I’m very glad to have cyber-met you, too. When I’m well I find humour in everything, and the memory of laughter sustains me when things go wrong. I try to think “This too shall pass, and when it does I will throw my head back and laugh until it hurts.”
                  This morning my troubled daughter had a choice of three possible reactions to me accidentally waking her. She could have become angry, which would be the normal response, she could have ignored it, which is almost unheard of, or she could laugh, which she rarely does. Because she was seeing her adored brother for the first time in over 6 months (her abusiveness has made visits impossible) she started to laugh, and once she started she couldn’t stop. It was the most wonderful thing to see. Laughter is healing. I have had the best mothers day ever. EVER.

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

