A Loving Army

This poem is dedicated to Dale, a courageous man with an inspiring blog, who led me to the realisation described in the sonnet.

BeFunky_kattekrab-Crowd.jpg

For years anger and self-pity mirrored my eyes

The drug addiction of others was my vile enemy

Trapped within mother love from which I could not flee

I was terrorised by the manipulation and the lies

Within my house: yet when I became ready to revise

And realise that addicts were victims just like me,

And we were in similar straits, still I couldn’t see

The bigger picture, and recognise all our allies

Whose rebellious chemistry confounds the brain

And their struggling families weep over a similar plight

for their beloved casualties of sex, gambling and pain.

The disease of addiction is the foe that we must fight

If we stand together and tell our truths without shame

We’ll make a loving army, leading others to the light.

© Jane Paterson Basil

9 thoughts on “A Loving Army

    1. Thank you. I’m a bit concerned that all of the good things which have happened in my life recently are blunting my edge.
      Yes, this poem is heartfelt. I used to discriminate between addictions, placing each on a seperate level. But addiction is the desese, and sex, drugs or gambling and even gymnastics or whatever are merely symptoms.

      Like

    2. Thank you. Yes, truly heartfelt. I used to discriminate, putting addictions into individual categories, but addiction is the disease and sex, drugs, gambling and even gymnastics or whatever are merely symptoms. I have known this for a long time, and yet only recently learned to be non-judgemental.

      Like

Leave a Reply

