Wild Boar Wood

Five Photos. Five Stories. Day 1

Thank you Calen at Impromptu Promptlings for nominating me for this fun challenge. For anyone who hasn’t seen Calen’s lovely inspiring site, I recommend that you check it out now.

BeFunky_2014-07-03 17.jpg

When I beheld that sweet haven

    which was to be my home for a while

      behind my rib cage

        where my tired heart lay sick

        something fluttered and swelled

        and a feeling that healing could reach me

       swept through my senses.

      The trees welcomed me

   their budding leaves opening

to show me the future    

© Jane Paterson Basil

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo.  It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you. 

Then each day, nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge.

Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command.  Today, I’m inviting Annie, The Little Snowflake to join the challenge. 

17 thoughts on “Wild Boar Wood

  1. Oh gosh, Jane. That’s so beautiful. It felt like you were going to such a healing place. And I loved the way you placed it on the page. It felt like taking a big deep breath and letting it out. Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was a beautiful moment. I was in shock. I had run away from the months and years of hell because everyone had told me to, and there seemed to be nothing left of me. Suddenly I was standing at the gate to paradise. My head went up, I stood straighter, I took a deep breath and exhaled slowly. I was in love! I have linked the story I wrote about it under “this haven”. All of the photo/story challenge posts are going to be about aspects of Wild Boar Wood.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s awesome to have an overall theme. I can’t wait to read the rest of them. It’s funny how some things can just drive you to be creative, isn’t it? I felt like I was writing a bloomin’ travel blog. It didn’t suit me.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re just a rebel who thinks she has to do what is requested of her, but doesn’t want to! I love that about you. I’ve had a guffawing laugh stuck in my throat for hours, but nothing to use it on. You’ve given me something to tag it to, and I’m grateful for that, athough I’m laughing so much that it’s hard to type!

          Liked by 1 person

        1. The countryside around it is very English, with small clumps of woodland between patchwork fields, but I see what you mean. Some of the trees are hornbeam, which only grow in that part of the country, so I had never seen them before. Do you have hornbeam in the US? Its wood is used for making handles for tools, and i believe it was once popular for ship-building.

          Like

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination! This is so beautifully done! I am so so glad you nominated me for the challenge
    This really inspired me 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Yogalicious Life

Make this life Yogaliciously yours!

neelwritesblog

I write to figure out what is left

Words Got Wings

Life Is A Myth !

My Thoughts

It's all in my mind, my hand just doing its part to express.

Smart Veg Recipes

Welcome to home made, vegeterian, healthy & kids friendly recipes

Ivor.Plumber/Poet

An Old Plumber, An Ex-Carer, An Amateur Poet, Words From The Heart

Be Still, Be Strong

Be still, sweet child for the spiders in your head will soon tire of their webs

Reena Saxena

Founder of ReInventions -- Coach, Trainer, Writer and Personal Branding Consultant

Love My Recovering Addict

mother of recovering addict, addiction, heroin, boundaries, faith, burns, burn survivor

The Recovery Republic

Addiction.Relapse.Recovery

bloggingitout2017

Just get it out

Mara Eastern

I hope to be hysterically hilarious. But maybe I'm just hysterical.

One step at a time, this is my life & now it's in writing.

Apathy, depression, mania, addiction, self awareness & remission

Addictions Podcast

The Podcast About Addictions

Flawed Masterpieces

Because we all are...

Looking at the world through a windshield.

Observations from the loose nut behind the wheel.

OwnShadow

Looking for people to share the written word

True Strange Library

Xeno's True Strange News Awards: Incredible, Weird and Factual

Andrea's Insight

Mostly addiction and recovery stuff

One Day, One Step, One Breath

a look at addiction and recovery through the eyes of an addict's daughter

Aziza Afire

words are just fuel...

christieeve

Progress not Perfection!

An Aspergian's Chemical Romance

The life of an autistic dude explained through poetic passion

addiction family therapist journal

Jesus, Divine Mercy, we trust in You.

The Diary of the fallen soul

Let the damn words in us all take it's course

On the Trail of the Red Herring

The adventures of the great detective, Tony Pastry.

WINDSTREWN

words. music. randomness. life.

hedgehogsbiscuitscats

fun, characters, poems, stories, food and much randomness

Chronicles of Wonder

Beauty Through Untrained Eyes

spilling some

giving myself a good talkin to

And Then Nothing Happened

The Fabulous adventures Of a Boring Individual

t r e f o l o g y

all questions answered all answers questioned

aroused

Aroused by Arête, provoking poems and ideas

A Million Thoughts & a Heart

What happens when a million thoughts have to share a single heart?

The Abject Muse

Embracing the Absurd Since 2011

Sara in LaLaLand

Welcome to my world.

Susan Rushton

Celebrating gardens, nature, photography and a creative life

