Stormy Weather at Wild Boar Wood.

Five Photos. Five Stories. Day 4

Thank you Calen at Impromptu Promptlings for nominating me for this fun challenge. For anyone who hasn’t seen Calen’s lovely inspiring site, I recommend that you check it out now.

2014-07-03 17.02.08

the 
   night 
      w h e n 
         with o u t 
            w a r n i n g, 
               t h e  s t o r m 
        crackled and
thundered all 
   around,  lighting 
       the sky with its white
          fury,  my  niece  and  I were 
             in different areas of the campsite. 
                We  ran  to  the  meadow  
                   and danced in the
             rain caking our legs
       with  mud,   laughing 
           because we had both 
               had the same idea. the  
                   next day the sun gave us
                       its usual golden 
                 smile as if nothing 
           had   happened, 
               and it set to 
                   work drying 
                       the  d a m p 
                          ground ready
                       to c h e e r
                    e v e r y  
                 d a m p-
              ene d 
           spir-
        it

© Jane Paterson Basil

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you.

Then each day, nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge.

Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command. Today, I’m inviting Alien Aura to join the challenge.

19 thoughts on “Stormy Weather at Wild Boar Wood.

  1. The forest in the rain. Can’t think of any place else I’d like to be. But I must admit my first thought was, “Get out of that meadow, you goofballs, before you get hit by lightning!” LOL You’re such a free spirit. Your niece must take after you! The poem looks like a bolt of lightning.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heather is lovely. She takes after herself. It was thanks to her that I got the job. She was backpacking around Mexico when she heard about it (the wonders of the Internet!) She wanted to go for it, but it was a 2 person job. he ask me to apply with her. I checked online and figured we didn’t have a chance because so many people had applied (1,100, for 4 jobs, 2 campsites with 2 wardens at each) so I said yes. Then we got the job! She’s not going back this year. She’s got herself a better paid job as she wants to save up to cycle around the world.
      I have to dance in the storm so I don’t run out of electricity!

      Like

  2. Lovely poem, Jane. A moment captured in time. You’ve got to love a thunderstorm, despite the wet and the danger to life!
    Have a very happy memory of me and the hubster doing something very similar years ago when we were drunk, unencumbered by parental responsibility, walking home from a ‘do.’ ‘Course all that running barefoot in the street meant I found a piece of headlamp glass embedded in my toe the next day… but hey, it was worth it 🙂
    Thanks for nominating me for this challenge. Here’s my first effort on Word Shamble https://lynnmlovewords.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Heather is a busy woman. She’s long gone by now, halfway up a rock or strangling herself with a very long piece of fabric that hangs from a tall tree. And yes, she is a soggy sort of person. She’s generally covered in blood. She does difficult things easily, but she falls over when she’s doing easy things.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. I think big headed is well and truly added to that list, but only because of the praise I get from my amazing family who I love so much. I’m trying to work out a weekend to come and visit you in the woods again whilst you are there. You are making me miss it. A lot! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

