Sea Mist

beach
image: https://www.flickr.com/photos/dsifry/2173895296/

twenty years have passed since
we walked along dampened sands
hands clasped but hearts far apart
the sky a grey parasol
remorselessly dulling the sea
reflecting my inner misery
expanding my need
to be free of this foolish fakery

nearby, a glimmering
sea-smoothed scrap of green glass
offered opportunity, excuse
to extricate my hand
from unwanted grasp
and to hunt amongst the
refuse of the waves, away
from unwanted contact

lost in the flotsam trail
the atmosphere adjusted

beyond my consciousness
misty droplets massed
unnoticed in my hair
as I stared towards the sand
searching for worn down
nautical treasures

a close spectral lull
compelled me to glimpse up
the sky had dropped its
neutral cloak
to mill around me
smoke like, a muffled mystery
that damply carressed my skin
the world had faded away
and all that remained
was me, briefly elated
in my tiny cosmos

I inhaled deeply
revelling in the vapour
of that flash of freedom.

the sky lifted from my skin
bringing visibility as it receded
I watched the waves wash the shore
the scene remained the same
but peace, like a warm breeze
had brushed against me
imparting the ability
to survive another day

© Jane Paterson Basil

5 thoughts on “Sea Mist

    1. Thank you Calen. I hoped you would. I wrote it months ago, before my brain turned to mush. I’m sure I’ll get back to writing like this again.
      I live a ten-minute drive from the sea, but I rarely go there these days. I usually only enjoy it when it’s wild and windy, but that day was calm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

