This Week.

laura and jane
Jane Basil the writer has left the building. Jane Basil the fighter is in charge now. She wishes to apologise for the fact that in her current guise she is unable to pick up the remnants and cut them into interesting shapes. She cannt carefully sew them together with small stitches, into an aesthetically pleasing design. She doesn’t remember how to crochet, knit and weave the words into a shape that fits.

She will drop the broken threads and the ragged tatters onto the page and leave them as they fall. They will lie there until they are covered up by fresh and orderly ones.

May they rest in peace.

Easter weekend was fun, with family and the park, with grandchildren and picnic, swings and roundabouts, laughter and rolling down hills.

Muddy jeans, sunshine and laughter.

Tuesday arrived as I knew it must. Tuesday 7th April, that long dreaded day. A necessary evil which became inevitable some two-and-a -half years ago. The day that my daughter walked into the police station and made her statement. She was 26 then. When she was ninteen years old, she had become the victim of a crime; a crime that carried through the whole summer.

It was a summer of waking each morning knowing that she was free to carry out her job of work without interfference, but when evening came she would be a slave again. The man who was her boss would carry out whatever unpleasant and sadistic acts on her body that he wished.

I have lived and re-lived that time over and over. When I found out what was happening I urged her to go to the police, but she refused, saying it was her own fault. He was an experienced predator, and had convinced her that it was all her own fault. If I went to the police, she would deny everything. I realise now that she was terriiified of repurcussions.

She finally got away from him, but it was too late. She was broken, and she began drinking heavily, getting into unhealthy relationships and avoiding her true friends. Her dabbling in drugs resulted in heroin addiction, and she carried her brother along with her.

And then a friend was falsely accused of rape, which brought the horrible experience back in force. This resulted in a terrifying five day drug binge, and when she came out of it she went to the police.

Due to budget cuts and suchlike, the case took two years to go to court, and when it did, the defendant became ill on the second day, and it was postponed for a further five months, until the 7th April, this year.

My daughter’s health and state of mind had deteriorated dramatically. The professionals around her were scratching their heads, wondering how she was managing to stay alive. She was so chaotic that it was impossible to help her. Every time an effort was made to section her under the mental health act, so that she could be safe and cared for she would pull herself together enough to convince two out of three doctors that she was not a risk to herself or others.

We managed to get her to the courtroom on the first day, and on the second day, when she was supposed to be cross-examined by the defence. But her mind was in such a terrible state by then that she refused to give evidence, because in her paranoid state she was convinced that there would be reprisals. She believes that this disgusting man has been causing all sorts of bad things to happen to her. She even believed that he had her boyfriend killed. He died of an overdose three months ago.

The case was stopped for the sake of my daughter’s wellbeing, and a not guilty plea had to be returned. If he had been found guilty, he would have appealed, on the grounds of an unfair trial.

The local newspaper placed a story on its Facebook page:

Croyde holiday camp manager cleared after alleged rape victim refuses to give evidence
By North Devon Journal  |  Posted: April 08, 2015

David Mason had always denied raping the autistic girl when she worked at the Ruda Holiday Camp at Croyde
A FORMER holiday camp manager has been cleared of raping a young waitress after she refused to carry on giving evidence against him.
David Mason had always denied raping the autistic girl when she worked at the Ruda Holiday Camp at Croyde in the 2000s and insisted she had agreed to regular sex sessions in his staff chalet.
He was found not guilty by a jury at Exeter Crown Court on the directions of Judge Jeremy Griggs after the prosecution offered no evidence,
Gareth Evans, for the prosecution, told the Judge he had decided to withdraw the case because the alleged victim did not want to give evidence.
At the second trial this week she refused to go back into the witness box and told police she did not want the case to continue.
Mr Mason, aged 55, of Grove Cottages, Bournemouth, Dorset, denied four charges of raping the girl when she was 19 and working in the catering department at Ruda, where he was the manager.
The prosecution alleged he rigged the staff rota to manipulate her into staying overnight at his chalet where he forced her to have sex up to 40 times during the summer.
They alleged she had submitted to his demands after he forced himself on her and that he also bit her on the legs and private parts during sex.
The case was stopped before Mr Mason was able to give his account but in police interviews he said she had instigated sex after he agreed to let her stay in his chalet.
He said she continued visiting and they enjoyed consensual sex on a number of other occasions throughout the summer season.
In offering no evidence Mr Evans told the judge: “I can tell you the complainant quite simply does not want the process to continue. She does not want to play any further part in proceedings.
“She had refused to do so and although the court has the power to summons her, it is the feeling of the officer in the case and the Crown Prosecution Service that would not be appropriate.”
Judge Griggs told the jury: “The witness does not wish to participate further in proceedings and in those circumstances, having satisfied myself that is the position, I ask you to enter not guilty verdicts.”

We returned from the trial with my daughter in a more healthy state of mind than she has been for a while, and that evening I managed to get her to the hospital, and she was admitted for an operation on her leg. She has a swelling the size of a saucer on her thigh, as well as a lot of contusion and bruising. It is her belief that the injuries were carried out by others while she was asleep. She is down for surgery today, as it had to be cancelled yesterday.

Since writing that last paragraph I have rung the hospital and discovered that she can’t have surgery today, as every time the staff came to take her uo to theatre she was outside the grounds “having a cigarette”, and when she was told she should wait on the ward she replied that she couldn’t hang around all day waiting for them to be ready for her, and anyway she had had a drink, so she was no longer nil by mouth.

She has been told that her name is now down for surgery tomorrow. She must stay on the ward, and if she doesn’t, they will turn her out, and she’ll have to find another hospital.
I could have written about the difficulties that this has caused for her brother, and the change in the law concerning a particular legal high, and a few other things, but I’m tired, and all I want to do is sleep, rather than spend tomorrow morning in a hospital ward trying to keep my poor, lost, 29 year old autistic, bipolar, drug addicted daughter under control.

laura and jane 2

46 thoughts on “This Week.

  1. I’m not going to LIKE this ’cause that would be insensitive, I think. I am just totally floored and can’t imagine what you are going through. I hope you have some kind of support for you there, and that she manages to get the surgery. Dear Jane. Just know that I am here praying for you. Great big hugs and lots of love, Calen

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for being you Calen.
      Sometimes Ifeel like a weightlifter. I learn to lift heavier and heavier weights, and while it doesn’t get easier it doesn’t seem to get any harder either.
      That story is the bare bones of the origins af a lot of our family troubles.

      Like

      1. You know, I think I knew that instinctively. I’d say consider all this as research for that book you’re going to write, but that’s pretty hard to do when you’re going through it. Hang in there, girl. And just get back to us when you can. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Jane, so difficult to put into words what I feel after reading this, actually words cant express what I feel. But if homeopathy can be of any use to any of you I am always here. BIG HUG XXX

    Like

    1. Thank you Lilias. This isn’t the first time I have been touched by your kindness. I would love it if Laura took you up on your offer. Her difficulties are so complex, and, partly because she is so chaotic, they are not being addressed efficiently. I’m off to Sussex for three weeks on Tuesday, but I’ll have a word with Laura, to see if she’d be willing to try homeopathy.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your concern. Comments like yours make me feel stronger.
      My story is only one of many. I am more fortunate than some. For some reason I have coped, no matter what has been thrown at me. The worst that has happened (apart from a few bouts of depression) is that my hair fell out a couple of years ago. But even that has grown back!

      Like

  3. Dear Jane, I’m so sorry. I don’t know what else I could possibly say that would help and I know that ‘sorry’ is a truly pathetic sentiment for what you’ve all been through and continue to go through.
    I can’t imagine how it’s been for you all. Thank you for sharing such a hard part of your life. Keep safe and well and grow strong together x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When somebody goes to the effort of responding to a post like this it is never pathetic. I have known people cross the street to avoid the embarrassing need to speak to a bereaved friend, because they don’t know what to say. It doesn’t matter what somebody says; it’s the compassion that makes the difference, and I thank you for that. It means a lot to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s hard to be brave, to be stronger each day with all the pain kept inside and yet new ones waiting outside to attack as and when they get the chance to.But am so proud of you for being what you are!! An iron-lady, the back-bone to your kids and family..Life has presented to you so much of nightmares and rivers of troubles, i earnestly cross my fingers and pray that god may now return all the happiness he denied you through this time and make every thing alright..Much love to you and i wish if i could help you or Laura in any manner it would be an honor…
    Please stay strong and happy…hug you Jane
    My brave Commander 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I intend to live to see all of my family well and whole again. Only death will take my hope away, and I will do whatever is necessary as long as I am alive.
      One thing you may be able to do at some point – if I ever post something that Laura has written it would be great if it got glowing praise from my readers…
      Oceans of love to you xxx

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Amen! Am so confident and so hopeful for you to witness that day of wellness very soon 🙂
        It would be pleasure doing that and also she will receive galaxies of glittering smiles from all your readers, no doubts!!
        All love and hugs ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Stay the fighter for as long as you need to. We will be here when you have the energy or inclination to write this out of your head as you go. I cannot imagine the frustration and anxiety and helplessness you must feel at times. Lifting you from afar in love, light and healing prayer. A friend of mine just gave a talk in Vancouver BC called, “You are stronger than you think.” I think we all are because we never know until we’ve been tested and you are so being testes. Thank goodness you have writing as an outlet. In the meanwhile, I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts and wishing you the very best possible outcome for all concerned. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I agree, we are all stronger than we think. My mum used to tell me that I was one of the strongest people she knew, but I didn’t believe her because i had never been placed in a position where I had to be the one at the forefront
      Last year, when I reached breaking point, I was lifted safely away for six months to recover my strength. We are not given more than we can cope with. I know that there is a purpose to all of this, but it is not for me to understand it. That knowledge helps me through, and I believe that I will have my reward for never giving up. My daughter will recover.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so right. A year ago I may have asked you – from my curled-up position on the floor – what the hell you knew about it, but these days I tend not to curl up. I’m stronger than ever, and I’m looking at your comment, nodding my head and smiling.
      So I sincerely thank you Michelle, for the hug and for your realistic approach.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Jane, it’s a truly brave thing to make the decision to keep standing and fighting rather than just giving up and walking away — which so many people do. And its even braver to share your story with others to help them understand that they are not alone either. I will be praying for your family. None of this brokenness and hurt is God’s plan for you or your children. Jesus tells us clearly that it is the thief that kills, steals, and destroys, but that the Lord has only life — and that more abundantly — to give us. He does have solutions in Jesus and His powerful mercy and love. I will be praying that you see those solutions manifested in your lives very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comment, and for your prayers. I hadn’t expected such an overwhelming response to my post, and I’m very grateful. I’m confident that the imput from so many good people will help to turn Laura’s life around. She needs to find the strength to make the right choices.

      Like

      1. Your welcome. Sometimes a break is the best thing. Sometimes it creates the space to shine a new light on a situation. I hope your daughter finds her strength and yours is renewed and refreshed.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I’m fine really – it’s all experience and I think I can use it to help vulnerable people turn away from the path of addiction, at the same tme reaching out to the families of addictsto encourage them to hold their heads up and not be ashamed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

