In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Hear No Evil.”

It Doesn’t Feel Like Stealing

roses-398541_640

this wild little thing
wishes for pretty proof
roses wrapped in white tissue
his name inscribed within
she dreams of him
lives and breathes for each
chance meeting, each secret kiss
it doesn’t feel like stealing
with a love such as this.

the evening bus is busy
some distance in front of her
three girls are in muttered discussion
and one of them whispers her name
though the sounds are muffled
two words that are uttered
are ‘husband’ and ‘slut’
but though her heart
sinks into a gaping abyss
it doesn’t feel like stealing with a love such as this

© Jane Paterson Basil

2 thoughts on “It Doesn’t Feel Like Stealing

    1. Thank you. I’m quite pleased with the repetition of ‘It doesn’t feel like stealing’.The poem wasn’t intended to be about that. It was meant to be about something that happened when I was 15, and I got into a situation I couldn’t control. My parents thought that I wanted things the way they wers, because I couldn’t tell them what was really happening. I thought it would put the whole family in danger. One of my mums oldest friends was an eminent child psychologist whose books were used in universities. She visited and I listened at the door. Big mistake!
      I haven’t changed the theme. I scribbled the silly header on the computer last night, because I couldn’t stand the sight of that blurry image I had before, and as for the brown background, that always happens when I come here from the Daily Post. I don’t know why, but it doesn’t really matter. I like the way the image looks with it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

