Spot-the-Difference

The definition of  fungus is:

Any of a diverse group of eukaryotic single-celled or multinucleateorganisms that live by decomposing and absorbing the organic materialin which they grow, comprising the mushrooms, molds, mildews,smuts, rusts, and yeasts, and classified in the kingdom Fungi or, insome classification systems, in the division Fungi (Thallophyta) of thekingdom Plantae.

How much do you know about fungi? Below is a series of photos taken in Wild Boar Wood last September, on my mobile phone. All but one of them are of fungi. Can you spot the difference?

A5 A22 A11 A13 A16 A17 A20 A14 A21A1A8A7

© Jane Paterson Basil

8 thoughts on “Spot-the-Difference

    1. I hoped someone would mention foot fungus. Those feet belong to my eldest daughter and her two children, and they’re all fungus-free. Congratultions! Being the first one to correctly spot -the-difference, you win a wonderful prize. The prize is a happy thought for every day of your life. It’s up to you to choose what these happy thoughts are. I’ve left them in the sky for you to collect daily. There are millions of them.

      Like

    1. I had intended to look them up, but haven’t got around to it. I know puffballs and Fly Agaric, but that’s it. Shame on me!
      Throughout the seasons I spotted loads of varieties, including several I had never seen before. Although this is a small country the eco-systems vary from area to area. I find that really exciting.
      My favorite fungus was the lilac one. It was so luminous that it looked radioactive! I wouldn’t want to put that in my spaghetti Bolognese!

      Like

    1. I’ve never even heard of Tron! I don’t keep up with the Disney movies. I must be the only person on earth who hasn’t even seen Ice.
      I really enjoyed Beauty and the Best, but it was ruined for me when that lovely beast became a boring old prince. I prefer to think of his transformation as being a metaphor – he becomes a better person, and that in itself makes him beautiful. I don’t set a lot of store by physical beauty.
      Oh! I’m rambling…

      Like

Leave a Reply

