In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “In a Crisis.”

Untitled

I found a spacious box in the back of my brain
a thick film of dust was all it contained
the words “Don’t panic” were inscribed on the side
sensible advice which I couldn’t cast aside
the worries of a lifetime and all of the fears
that had kept my heart racing for so many years
still lay curled in the creases of my mind
so tricky to dispel, but easy to find.

I hunted out my fears, my troubles and my trials
then I placed them in the box in tidy piles
now every time a crisis knocks at my door
I calmly feed the box one panic more.

© Jane Paterson Basil

5 thoughts on “The Box

    1. I know what I meant, but I probably didn’t say it very well. I was in a hurry to finish the poem. To tell the truth, one of my regular crises had just popped up in the shape of my daughter.

      Like

    2. I’ve dropped ‘dilemma’ and replaced it with ‘panic. To tell the truth, I don’t like this poem much. It sounds smug, and that’s not me. Also it’s a bit too “de da de da de da de da for my liking. I don’t know what I was thinking. What I really meant was that I’ve had so much crap in my life that in the end I had to learn to be calm in order to survive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

