A wisp of hope.

shadow-55602

Although I can no longer look at you, I’m left with the image you brought the last time you came into my place, filling my quiet, safe space with danger and pain. You were so thin that I swear I could see the white of those bones which threaten to crumble to dust while I contiue to live. Your skin a hue that defies description. Angry sores on your face. Blank, pinned eyes.

What do you want from me? Do you sometimes feel the need for a mother’s love? Do you wish for sympathy or are you simply driven by the desire for drug money? I cannot give you any of these things. Even my love for you is locked so deep inside that it cannot be released.

I don’t ask you to listen. I write this not for you, but for me. Wrapped in your soft, blood-stained armour of golden brown liquid, you cannot hear me now, and when your inability to score strips you naked you are in too much pain to feel anything but your need for more poison.

Heroin submerges what you once knew to be the truth deep beneath her lies. She tells you you need her in order to survive, and although something inside you whispers that you are going to die, it no longer seems such a high price to pay because your eyes are too dimmed to see what that means.

She led you to care so little for your life that any drug would do. Now she keeps her distance as you trip through amphetamine insanity, with black, staring eyes and limbs akimbo. She lets the leash stretch knowing you are still within her reach.

These words are bent out of shape and refuse to be a goodbye. Hard as I try I cannot make them say what I wish you to know before you go, because within me a wisp of hope still exists.

The wish that you may recover, and learn a way to live.

© Jane Paterson Basil

2 thoughts on “A wisp of hope.

  1. That is so honest and heartbreaking. I’m guessing you vacillate between pain and numbness. It’s almost as bad as giving birth. But then again, the waiting? Maybe it IS a kind of giving birth? {{{Jane}}}

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

