Daily Archives: August 7, 2015

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Through the Window.”

wind-365001_64

apart from
the wet-room
in this little apartment
the view from the bay window
of my living room is my favourite thing

I look down from the second floor.
ahead of me the canopies
of bright leaved
deciduous trees rise up
cleaning the air even as it is
tainted by traffic on the main road
visible between the trunks and low branches

the vegetation hides a wedge of the town
but not the portion to the right of it
I always look beyond, further
to the right, where brick
and concrete have no place
where the tree-frilled fields live
and on the horizon are huge metal angels
that spin at the brush of the wind,
giving us a cancer-free way to
produce electricity

every day as I
work at my laptop
every day without fail
I look out of my window,
I see no cause for controversy
I see only beauty gracefully pirouetting
in harmony with nature’s tune

©Jane Paterson Basil