In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Through the Window.”

wind-365001_64

apart from
the wet-room
in this little apartment
the view from the bay window
of my living room is my favourite thing

I look down from the second floor.
ahead of me the canopies
of bright leaved
deciduous trees rise up
cleaning the air even as it is
tainted by traffic on the main road
visible between the trunks and low branches

the vegetation hides a wedge of the town
but not the portion to the right of it
I always look beyond, further
to the right, where brick
and concrete have no place
where the tree-frilled fields live
and on the horizon are huge metal angels
that spin at the brush of the wind,
giving us a cancer-free way to
produce electricity

every day as I
work at my laptop
every day without fail
I look out of my window,
I see no cause for controversy
I see only beauty gracefully pirouetting
in harmony with nature’s tune

©Jane Paterson Basil

13 thoughts on “Dancing in the breeze

    1. love watching them. There’s a lot of opposition in this country to this kind of technology, but I love them as much as I hate nuclear energy. Forty years ago we thought that the day that machinery like this would take it’s place was just around the corner. While we’ve been waiting for it to happen many people have died from leukemia due to living near nuclear power stations. For me wind turbines are a dream come true, but we still need more alternatives.

      Like

    1. That’s how I feel about them too! I’m constantly glancing over at them as I sit at my laptop and write. Alternatively I can look down at the road, and watch ugly traffic drive past. How come I never hear any complaints about traffic ruining the view? And what about all of those ugly concrete buildings that were constructed in the 80’s? Many of them have had to be demolished, but if I look way over to the right of the wind turbins I can see our civic centre blocking out the hills behind it. I’m happy to say that will be gone by the end of the year, and then the only thing in front of those hills will be a beautiful old church spire.

      Like

    1. Thank you – and let’s not forget how unattractive you look when you get leukemia from living near a nuclear power plant. A brave friend of mine took a one way trip to Switzerland to visit Dignitas a few months ago. He probably wouldn’t have felt the need to go if he hadn’t lived close to a nuclear power plant for years. After a long period of unsuccessful protesting he got scared for his health and moved to North Devon. It was too late. He had leukemia.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so sorry to hear that, Jane. I think it’s sad that our citizens have to go abroad to seek that kind of help, away from their loved ones too.
        Last night, we were watching a programme about Sellafield – fascinating in a horrifying way, especially to see how they used to dispose of the nuclear waste – all just dumped in an open air lake onsite.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yep. That’s where he lived.
          Apparently authorites all over the world know that if they tried to prosecute someone for knowingly assisting another person to go to Dignitas to die, they would lose the case and set a precedent. Once that happened it would open the floodgates to a euthanasia centre in that country. I want to see a centre in the UK. It’s much needed. I read that more people go over there from the UK than any other country. Lots of people desire the service, but can’t afford to go to Switzerland.
          I’m proud to have known Geoff. He knew for years that he was going to have to take his own life, and his original plan was to go out in his catamaran and quietly slip into deep water. It pleases me that it wasn’t necessary to use that method.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s definitely an issue that needs addressing, especially with medical advances which mean we can be kept going for longing, no matter what our quality of life. We’ve all known people who’ve been very ill, who really could’ve done with slipping away months before they do. I know there would have to be stringent regulations in place – of course there would – but it’s a shame we can’t help people to slip away when they want to.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

