Brave naked soldiers

naked-2

some claim that writers are liars
with gift of plausability
but shaped by truth my words reveal me
no thin or plumby voice screeches in the ear
no wringing hands or rheumy eyes plead for your belief
no added props over-reach the mark
stealing their authenticity

with no marked target
but with trust I write in virtual space
leaving you free to ignore or to read

and you may reach out through the ether
like me, sometimes in need, but never begging
oft-times planting rich seeds within the core of my being
which grow green and fat to feed me

uninitiated souls belittle internet sharing
decrying the space where we meet
with no thought for our feelings
and little knowledge of
the incidental teachings
the compassionate reachings
they tell me this place is unreal

but here you’ll find brave naked soldiers
all of us using a single, triple action tool,
a weapon of defence, a soothing balm
and a protest with no blood spent

our medals and scars are not worn with pride
but neither hidden in shame
we are many from every curve of this world
and although we are each fighting our own creeping foes
though miles apart, we stand together
and when one of us stumbles
another enfolds us
in feathersoft
ink-tipped wings

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

Written for Blogging U. Writing 101. Assignment 1.

62 thoughts on “Brave naked soldiers

    1. Thank you! And apologies for the carefully placed lettering. I started off with a full bodied naked female image, but then realised I haven’t seen anything like that anywhere around here, so I toned it down, then I hunted around a few blogs to see if I could find any other nipples (yes, really!) When I didn’t find any, I decided to add the lettering, rather than risk offence. I realise there’s a mixed message here – I claim that we stand naked, and then hide the more interesting bits of flesh!

      People can be so weird about nakedness, as if they haven’t got stuff like that hidden under their own levis.

      Liked by 3 people

        1. I used to go to Glastonbury Festival. (it is world famous, isn’t it?) In those days the only showers on site were communal. Everybody – men and women – undressed and stood in a queue in the shower tent. I found it really liberating, to be in a tent full of naked people , with no sexuality involved. We just wanted to get clean, and we would all be having normal conversations with complete (naked) strangers, and there were no roaming eyes, as that would have been disrespectful. I loved it.

          Like

    1. Thanks Lynn. For many years I avoided close friendships – that often happens when you’re in an abusive relationship, sometimes because your partner is deliberately isolating you, but also because you don’t feel worthy of friendship. (It’s best not to try to get too close to anyone – they’ll only drop you when they realise you’re a boring waste of time) Blogging has built up my confidence. I now have friends who i trust.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Being with the wrong person can certainly destroy your self esteem. When I met my husband I was very aggressive and untrusting of men because a few months earlier I’d come out of an abusive relationship with a lad who then dumped me for someone better. It took a while to trust again, and quite honestly, I’m still not great with men I don’t know. If I have to sit next to someone on a crowded bus, I’d choose a woman over a man every time if possible. Not sure why, really. These early experiences can shape your attitudes for life. Crazy, eh?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, they can.
          I may be wrong about this, but aI think that an effort is being made in certain services – mental health in particular, to see that women are given appointments with other women, rather than with men. It makes sense to me. Once upon a time, when there were far less women in the workplace, (and in particular, in higher level jobs) that consideration wouldn’t have been practicable.

          Liked by 1 person

            1. That’s sometimes true. I remember a woman doctor once giving me ‘that’ examination… OUCH!
              She was the worst ever. Fortunately she left her (doctor) husband soon after that, and ran off with another man, so I didn’t have to see her again.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Nice. No excuse for being bad at your job, though – male or female. Let’s hope she retired too!
                I think there’s still a lingering idea for some men that women are ‘other’ – maybe a bit sensitive or frail – so they treat you a little more carefully. Of course another woman has no sympathy, having known exactly what you experience, having been through it herself. Of course tis comes out in fellow feeling with some women – in others it’s more ‘pull yourself together and get over it’!

                Liked by 1 person

                1. You’ve got a face! I hadn’t realised. And it’s a lovely face, so why have you been hiding it? I thought you must look like Quasimodo, or that maybe you had no nose!
                  Or is this a picture you cut out of a magazine to fool us?

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Haha! I don’t know why vanity suddenly took over and I decided to show the world my ugly mug! It was a pic husband took in the back garden as I was asked for some shots to go with blog posts I’m doing for a website and that was the easiest and cheapest option- it is me, honest! I’ve had me hair cut since then and prefer it this way-Iook a bit less horse faced πŸ™‚ Ah, but where did that old lady come from?

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. You. Are. Not. Ugly.
                      If you think you look bad in that photo, you must look really good in real life.
                      As for “that old lady”, you wait til you’re 60. You’ll look at that photo and think how beautiful you were then.
                      Sometimes I wonder why we care, but we do. I’m not trying to capture or keep a man, but I wish I still had youthful beauty. Why? Octegenarians can be beautiful too, and frequently are.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Yeah, we’re daft aren’t we, with our obsession with youth and looks? Yet we all fall for the same quota – young=attractive. Oh, I’m just being self deprecating. I’m not that down on myself – I don’t scare horses or babies, so I can’t be that bad! X

                      Liked by 1 person

        1. There was a time when I remembered laughter as a dear friend who had died, and I grieved for it, not believing it would ever return, but these days I laugh lots, and I find lots of reasons to laugh.
          I also have reasons to cry, but I’m beyond tears for my daughter. I just want her to find peace, wherever that peace may be. I mean it, though I know that if she dies she will take a chunk of me which I will never get back.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. The star is for your laughter returning as a long lost friend. The dam of welled tears for a daughter almost lost makes me sad. When they become adults they must find their own way. I am at the beginning of this stage and it is hard. You have immense strength. I see my ex’s manipulation in my ESR and hope it is a glimmer, that fades with time.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. If you ever read my memoir, which I am currently writing, you may not think me so strong, but thank you for your kind words.
              ESR? Remind me what that is – I’m English, and we speak a different language over here. πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

