Dehydration

Today at WordPress Writing 101, we are asked to compose a post on where we write. I had difficulty with this one, as I have covered the subject recently. I struggled, but finally came up with this:

astudent-849824_6

inspired words and phrases leave no space in my brain
I need to get them written
they roll and they dip while I’m rushing to the shop
even as I’m walking I can feel them slipping
into the quicksilver pit of thoughts unwritten
and though I risk being late I slow down to scribble
emptying the contents of my head on a page
where unfinished and frayed they wait patiently
’til the end of the day
when I can gather them in and
drop them in my laptop office suite
sift, arrange and add to them to make them neat

the evening is here and I faithfully record
every written word and each remembered thought
tapping at my keyboard while my dinner’s in the oven
then I munch at my desk in slovenly oblivion
while my concentration’s held by a comment on my blog
and as I process a response something clicks in my brain
and I begin cogitating
on a new idea that my mind is creating

I’d like a cup of tea, but I don’t have the time
I’d like a short rest but I may lose the rhyme

back in open office I try to feed my words
into the machine at the speed of my thoughts
if I don’t catch them quickly they’ll fall out of reach
but I’m tripping over errors, dipping back, correcting
‘cos I don’t possess the self control to leave them be
after a while my ideation slows it’s pace
giving me a chance to relax and ruminate
on alternative words that feel more appropriate

I’d like a cup of tea, but I don’t have the time
I’d like a short rest but I may lose the rhyme

I read and re-read, switch and re-arrange
I copy and paste my poem to my post page
at Pixabay I pick an image; click to save

I’d like a cup of tea, but I don’t have the time
I’d like a short rest but I may lose the rhyme

I tickle and tweak the image on my funky photo editor
embed the finished effort, then pick my tags

I’d like a cup of tea, but I don’t have the time
I’d like a short rest but I may lose the rhyme

I click preview: I scrutinize and edit
preview, edit, preview, edit, preview again
eventually I’m satisfied, and my work hits the net

I put the kettle on for tea, and wander back trough
to check on my comments and respond to a few

the kettle in the kitchen is no longer boiling
I haven’t yet transformed the notes I wrote this morning
into a poem. I am thirsty but contented
at another set of thoughts so cleanly vented

I re-boil the kettle and make that cup of tea
and chase it with water as I’m still thirsty

I’ll leave the ragged words that I wrote this morning
until a day when I lack inspiration
because my head is stuffed with an idea for a poem
about escaping cups of tea and dehydration

ยฉJane Paterson Basil

23 thoughts on “Dehydration

    1. I’m like that most of the time. Strangely, today wasn’t one of those days. I really struggled with this one. I was trying to write as if I was totally zoned in, but I wasn’t. I think I need to sleep.

      Like

  1. Wow! So THAT’S what creative genius looks like! See that’s my problem then. I get up and go get the hot chocolate at the drop of a hat. Then I never seem to get back to where I was at! (OML! I accidentally made a rhyme. You’re rubbing off on me! ๐Ÿ˜€ )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Now I’m not drinking coffee,I look forward all day to my bedtime hot chocolate. But I can’t make it while I’m working at the laptop, because I know that if I do, I’ll give in to the urge to have another at bedtime. hat doesn’t sound like such a crime unless you know how I like my hot chocolate!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I felt like I’d been round to share a cuppa – I drink gallons of the stuff, for me it’s food that gets delayed when trying to write and tea that fills the gap -but I make it by the flaskful and only have to grab a quick pour ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You make flasks of tea to drinkk when you’re writing! That made me laugh, and I thank you for that.
          It’s these little moments that make me want to live onthe internet. A remark that makes me laugh, and for a while all of the bad stuff recedes.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I found it uses only a tiny fraction more to boil my kettle full than for it to be forever on repeat with just enough for immediate use! So yes, I make at least two or three flasks of tea a day!

            Like

Leave a Reply

