Shine

fireworks-865104_

A Hidden Ember

when I am broken
my protective shell smashed on
the bleached sands of all lost things
my sticky innards beached and caked with grit
frightened, squeamishly wriggling
while silence screams lies in my ear

and someone makes a remark, which
leads to a thought, which
leads to a smile, and
I give a laughing retort.

I sparkle and shine when everything
lies in pieces around me
and without a tiny tap on the funny bone
I may expire.

<><><>

Sparkle and Shine

nobody
knows me
like my siblings do
we share our first
remembered
history

beneath
the waste of all which
has since been
a hidden ember glows, and
sometimes when we speak
we are one again, unchanged
though age has bent us

and familiarity
sends a spark from the
ancient fire of childhood
setting us aflame with merriment
it is then that we shine
we turn dark into light
we sparkle and
we shine

Written for Calen’s Sandbox Challenge

©Jane Paterson Basil

11 thoughts on “Shine

  1. Beautiful. The second poem especially seems so calm and has such softness and tenderness although some of the words such as ‘waste’ deliver powerful moments of their own within that. Both poems are so wonderfully carved, you have the most amazing way of creating poetry as if it breathes, it seems nurtured and enriched with such care of it’s creation. These two poems read really so well, juxtaposed as they are. It really is such a wonderful privelege to be able to read your poetry Jane 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you Colette. I can’t tell you how moved I am by your message.
      I don’t know where my words come from. I have always loved the power of the written words, and strived to improve, but these days each idea feels like a gift I have been freely given in simple puzzle form for me to rearrange to fit. I’m in love with writing. It is beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

