The things kids say

laughter-1234

I spent boxing day with my family. We were all sitting at the table eating when one of my daughters said to me “You do know you’re on the broken chair, don’t you mum?”

Well, no, I didn’t, but I secretly reckoned if it fell apart it would add humour to the occasion.

My seven year old grandson giggled and said “If Grandma falls off the chair she’ll be an even more broken old woman.”

For a split second everyone looked uncomfortable – would I see the humorous side of the remark?

How could they doubt it?.

The chair wasn’t dismembered by my raucous laughter, and I was a little disappointed – it would have been a perfect finale.

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

27 thoughts on “The things kids say

    1. Samuel has a games thing which he plugs into his ears when he’s playing on his computer, and people assume he can’t hear, but he’s bright, and we’ve all suddenly realised that there’s often no sound coming from the earplugs…
      He’s heard me make jokes about being a broken-down old woman, so I can’t blame anyone else. He was aiming for a laugh. He knows I always laugh at myself if I get the chance.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Haha! What a great relationship you have with your grandson! He must think very fondly of his brilliant Nan. My son takes the Mickey out of me all the time – he’s an absolute monkey and getting cheekier as he gets older. It’s not always easy to keep a sense of humour, but it helps πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. So important to cultivate it, isn’t it? I lost mine earlier this year when I seemed to be constantly ill and was sleeping so badly I was unable to function. I had no sense of humour at all for a few weeks. It’s so lovely when it returns and you begin to feel a little like your old self again.

        Liked by 1 person

            1. And pretending to laugh while looking in a mirror has the effect of producing genuine (if slightly self-conscious) laughter.
              I went to a laughter workshop, and my sides ached for days afterwards, not helped by the fact that every time I got a twinge, I was reminded of the reason for it, and I started laughing all over again!

              Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Shannon – I love tactlessness in children. It’s no more than naive honesty, although there was nothing naive about my grandson’s remark – he knew it would produce laughter.
      I suspect you understand that when life constantly smacks you in the face, you have to make the most of your sense of humour.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

