The most secret of secrets

Posted for The Sandbox Challenge

girls-914823_960_720

I will not leave you in ignorant bliss;
my most secret of secrets is simply this:
I don’t know whether my life is a truth
or a habitual deceit I’ve carried since my youth.
I always believe that my motives are pure
but I have never been completely sure.

In The Sandbox Challenge #21 Calen asks us to share our deepest secret. I don’t have many secrets, but this is one I don’t think I’ve shared before.

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

27 thoughts on “The most secret of secrets

  1. That’s a great question to ask ourselves…we all hope it’s the former but until we challenge ourselves, who knows…an awesome share for this prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

            1. I’m geting there – reading other writers posts helps.
              No mater what time of the day or night I switch the computer on, you are always there at your cartoon desk, wearing your cartoon shirt, with a dopey cartoon smile on your face – are you really a cartoon character, and do you never stop clicking at your cartoon keyboard? And if you are a cartoon character, does that make your writing less real?

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Haha! Yes, I am always here, clicking away at those keys. As for my being real or not, is any of this??? πŸ˜€ Perhaps I am a figment of your imagination OR a figment of mine πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

                Liked by 1 person

  2. I so totally hear ya. How many times have told a story we thought was from memory when, upon examining it closely, we find we’ve only ever seen a picture of it or heard our parents talk about it. But we repeat it so much it becomes ours and we don’t know anymore whether it truly IS our memory or ot…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lordy! What a wonderful way of putting it! Your next book could be about a girl who is sort of lost and wanders through life kidnapping people’s memories and making them her own. The gist of the book is she’s being followed by someone who is trying to prove she’s NOT who she THINKS she is! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hallo Jane πŸ™‚ brilliant response to the prompt, as is usually the case πŸ™‚ Returning very soon to catch up with your latest posts – been mostly tucked away in my snail shell very inactive for what seems like ages – I’ll probably be shocked at quite how long when I’ve made my way back to my last point of call. I’ll try not to leave it so long next time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

