David Bowie

David-Bowie_Chicago_2002-08-08_photoby_Adam-Bielawski-cropped

Photo by Adam Bielawski

The phone woke me this morning
and the sad news
hit me harder than I would have expected.
Major Tom has floated away to meet the Star man.

I drifted into a cloudy sleep, and in troubled dream
my home was flooded, and he and I
were trying, without success, to minimise the damage

the walls peeled away and
the skirting boards splintered, while my few possessions slipped
into a yawning, sewage-filled hole in the floor
and I knew the loss was irreplaceable

Rest in Peace David. There are many lovely colours in this world, but you shone with unique, rainbow hues.

©Jane Paterson Basil

12 thoughts on “David Bowie

Leave a Reply

