Trying to pull the wool over my eyes

small_63117

In the usual way of such things,
unsilicited, the mobile rings
and the voice at the other ends says
“You have been selected to win
two hundred and fifty pounds worth
of High Street vouchers or
a brand new Ipad, all you have to do is”
She didn’t finish; I had cut her off in mid-flow.
Woe, woe, woe is me,
I have given away a thrilling opportunity
to be given money for nothing, or an Ipad –
although she could mean a pad to cover my eyes.
I wonder, would it have been made out of wool…

©Jane Paterson Basil

13 thoughts on “Trying to pull the wool over my eyes

Leave a Reply

