A cup of tea

 

ginsburgconstruction-kitchen-3-330737_960_720

What is the matter with Jane today?
she started to write, but she wandered away.
I heard her say as clear as can be
“I’m going to make a cup of tea.”
She went to the kitchen but didn’t return.
For hours I waited with growing concern,
and when she came out the kitchen was clear
of the usual clutter and every last smear.
It was sparkling and pristine and neat as a pin:
and yet it was filthy when she went in,
and now she is writing as fast as can be –
but there’s still no sign of that cup of tea.

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

65 thoughts on “A cup of tea

    1. The image is from Pixabay – the only kitchens I could find that I liked were untidy, and wouldn’t have worked for this particular bit of nonsense, so in the end I got sick of looking, and went for the next tidy which came up. I agree with you – I would go mad in a room like that. I’d probably end up having to live on bread, olives and bananas.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Intentions…we all have them but they never always turn out as we intend them to. Sometimes, they even lead us astray and we end up scouring the kitchen instead πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ok, I’ll admit it – I’d got to a tricky bit in my writing, but I’m not sorry, because the kitchen is finally arranged the way I want it, after living in a muddle since I moved in last May, because I was writing all the time I wasn’t feilding my offsprings’ crises.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment brought to mind those days when I was in my teens. My mother used to buy a different tea every couple of weeks, and she and I would sit together in the kitchen , sampling it and comaring with those we had already tried. We both disliked Orange Pekoe and Jasmine flower. Mum like oolong, but I concluded that Earl Grey was my favorite, and I still drink it today. Thank you for your words, and for bringing back those special memories of long-gone intimate moments…

      Like

      1. interesting, Earl Grey is one I dislike. Odd how different teas are, isn’t it? I don’t like many of the herbal teas, especially ones I think taste like perfume. If I don’t have oolong I just drink regular old everyday tea…Lipton’s or whatever. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I would be happy to do all that and more πŸ™‚ I’m battling millions of little ants at the moment. they insist on coming in out of the heat doesn’t matter what I threaten them with. I have become a mass murderer!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve lost counnt of the ants I’ve killed in the past (what a silly remark!) but I always felt guilty. So many people take the attitude that ants have no right in their home, and rabbits have no right in their garden, but why should they accept man-made rules, and how can they, when they don’t even understand?
          We live in a beautiful world, but it’s also, of necessity, a battlefield.

          Like

            1. It started when I was a workaholic, and going to the dentist was the only thing that forced me to sit still. I kind of miss those days, but not the ones that followed, when much of my time was spent being manipulted by my two younger children.
              At least it took away any residual horror of dentists…

              Liked by 1 person

                1. I must have been lucky. It helped that we got a day off school to visit the dentist, – we lived in a very rural area, and the dentist was in the opposite direction to the school, – and mum always made a treat of it. She never told us it hurt, and we never noticed…

                  Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so hot in this building – even without me using my heating – that I have to keep the windows open most of the time, and now that the NHS have announced that we should keep the temperature at 18 degrees (18!) I imagine all my neighbours will turn their heating up another notch and in no time at all the stench of roasting dead flesh will permiate the walls.
      It’s been on my mind a lot over the past few days. I don’t think it’s safe or healthy for people to be surrounded by constant high heat throughout the home.

      Liked by 1 person

            1. Paul and I have been trying to think of a country which would be better suited to your temperate needs, but we haven’t come up with anything other than (possibly) Northern France.
              Parlez vous Francais? (If you do, please don’t answer me in French – I won’t understand!)

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Haha! Yes, I’m a bit rubbish, really. England in the Spring is about perfect for me – after the frosts have gone, but before the wearing heat of summer kicks in. I’m not sure there is a single country that has that temperature all year round. Oh, no – does that mean I’ll have to move every season, following ‘cardigan weather’ around the globe as the earth shifts. Dear me, what a shame. Now, all I need is a millionaire to fund this lifestyle and I’m sorted πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

                    1. I think your original plan is the best one – travelling by private jet is more comfortable than hitch-hiking and jumping trains, and while it may be environmentally unsound, ethics tend to cease being an issue when you’ve got fifty-pound notes dropping from your earlobes.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Ah, cash dropping from your earlobes – sounds interesting. I’ve always thought if I had A LOT of disposable income, how great it would be to rent out a decent house in a decent area to a family for a low rent – knowing how crippling private rents can be and how rough some council property is, it’d be nice to help someone have a nicer life.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. I’ve been hoping to win the lottery, but the other day someone told me I’m not allowed to win, because I don’t take part, (Huh! What happened to equality?) so don’t bother looking for something for me to buy, unless they’re letting people take out mortgates on single bricks.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. I think we should lobby to change that rule.
                      Did you catch the story about the woman who says she has a 33 million quid winning ticket, but she accidentally washed it, and the barcode has been obliterated?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. No, I didn’t catch that. How angry must she be? Though so many of the people who win huge sums burn their way through the money and it really doesn’t make them happy in the end. I’ll keep reminding myself of that πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    6. But wouldn’t it be fun to win something like Β£8,ooo? It’s the kind of sum you could enjoy without it messing up your head.
                      If I found a sum like that I’d be able to afford to go to India ot Africa, and join a project to give children or prostitutes a decent life away from the pimps and the beggar-masters – or I could help the Syrian refugees.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    7. In truth, I always wanted a properly large sum of cash, so husband and I could finally buy a house, have a pot for son to go to uni with, or whatever, and plenty spare to help people out – how fantastic to be able to give a huge sum to charities, or set one up of your own. Though you could never have enough cash – too many worthy causes out there.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    8. I used to want enough cash to buy a house outright, and put some away for my children’s future, with enough left over to do good stuff for those in need, but I’ll be 61 in a couple of weeks, and these days I’m just glad to have a roof over my head.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    9. Very good! Like that very much. Yes, we do have Jeremy Corbyn – he seems to have a great deal of integrity. Which is probably why so many of his ministers are trying to see him ousted.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    10. Hrrmph, a minister with integrity? Can’t have that, old boy. It’s not cricket.
                      Look into his history; see if you can trump up a history of treason, and we’ll hang him. Get the job done properly, what?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    11. Could we tar and feather him first, do you think? That would be awfully amusing! He would think it was all over and then we’d bring out the noose…
                      Or better still, why don’t we just vote for him? A lot of Greens will be putting their X in the labour box, (including me, I expect) which is sad, but probably necessary. Will the poverty stricken floating voter realise what’s good for him/her, I wonder?

                      Liked by 1 person

                    12. The Green Pary were happy that he came along, but now, although they like him and believe he’ll be good for the country, at the same time they’re getting edgy about the Green votes that will be lost to him – that’s the trouble; it’s probably the Green party which will lose out the most, because that’s where you find many of the left-wingers these days.
                      I wish the whole country could be green, with red stripes. If you look into the green party policies, you see that those are their true colours…

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

