If you’re a poet

if I called a rose a daisy it would still smell the same
but the rose may be unhappy to have the wrong name

if I accused you of cowardice when caution was required
I would be to blame when your anger was fired

if I called you a grouch when you felt depressed
you’d be even less happy and you’d feel more oppressed

if I called you silly when we couldn’t agree
what kind of person would that make me?

if you rename cheese and you call it chalk
nobody will listen to you when you talk

but if you’re a poet you can break this rule
the licence allows you to play the fool

<> <> <>

©Jane Paterson Basil

4 thoughts on “If you’re a poet

Leave a Reply

