I tried

Written for the Daily Post’s word prompt “Incomplete.”

I tried to write a poem
about a man with two left feet
but someone rang the doorbell
so it is incomplete

I tried to write a poem
about the life of a hedgehog flea
but someone broke my door down
so it is incomple…

I tried to write a poem
about a girl with a magic thumb
but someone hit me on the head
so it is incom…

I tried to write a poem
about a life of crime and sin
but someone stole my laptop
so it is in…

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

17 thoughts on “I tried

    1. That poem took less than ten minutes to write. (as I’m sure you can believe) If I’d continued it, it would have given me time to decide that it was too silly to post, and this poor world would have – well, the world would have continued to turn, and nobody would have been the wiser πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ooh, you clever girl – love that poem! Love the way ‘incomplete’ shrinks, love the images of the poems you tried to write. Just really clever, fun – and with an unsettling hint of otherness. Really very good πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

