All but his heart

a post

Thanks to Sue Vincent for this lovely photo prompt, which I was lucky enough to find as a result of reading  Donna’s great take on it.

When they first began to appear we thought they were ordinary animal dens. But soon people noticed there were knots of them in all the affected towns, and that’s when we began to suspect.

Our town had not yet been touched by the horror. That poor child saw one of those holes, and reached his hand into it. He struggled, but stood no chance. I heard his screams. A few seconds later they spat him out in pieces, all but his heart, just like the others. The vultures circled, but didn’t swoop. They knew the danger.

©Jane Paterson Basil

48 thoughts on “All but his heart

    1. I’m glad they have vacated that hole or you wouldn’t have survived to post the photo! 😀
      Thank you for giving me the opportunity to make you cringe! or should I apologise for posting something so gory? I saw the picture and the idea sprang to mind. I must be a sick individual…

      Liked by 1 person

            1. My son has teturned to prison for a month (he requested it) so maybe I’ll have time to catch up on everything while he’s away – although, what I really need to focus on is building up my strength, for when he comes out again.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I’m glad he made the choice himself rather than the other way. Though sad that it came to that. You have to take care of yourself in order to take care of others. All of my nurses tell me that, over and over and over. I’m just sharing the wealth. You are strong Jane it just must not feel that way to you, though you project strength all over the place. In order to be able to feel it takes practice and learning to love yourself for being the wonderful you that you are in spite of conditioning that have may existed in the past.

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Thank you. I don’t feel wonderful at the moment. My current response to feeling crap is to redecorate my flat – something Paul was meant to be helping with, but he got me down so much that I became couldn’t be bothered to do anything.

                  Liked by 1 person

                    1. You’re so right – I’ve spent the day repainting my bedroom, and I feel much better now.
                      I’ve also joined a gym, and I’m having my induction on Wednesday. I don’t usually like gyms, but this one only admits women…

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. It makes a difference, doesn’t it? I used to do yoga, and I enjoyed it, but it didn’t seem to wake me up as much as the gym, even though I never really liked going. But I never went to an all female gym before, and I’m looking forward to it…

                      Liked by 1 person

        1. This is going to sound unlikely, but I somehow managed to avoid Star Wars every time it raised its corporate head. I occasionally ask someone if Darth Vader is a goodie or a baddie, but I always forget the answer!! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Sssh – don’t tell anyone about the oven, or I’ll never catch any of those tender little dinners.
      Just to let you know – a technical glitch is preventing me from commenting on posts, that’s why you haven’t heard from me lately. I’m can only respond to comments made on my blog. It makes me feel like an orphan.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

