The question

she’d like to ask the question
not for empathy,
for pity’s sake or sympathy

she’d like to ask the question
not so that you will run to her side
with a cup of kind advice

she’d like to ask the question
trusting that her friends would never
make it a competition of ills

she’d like to ask the question
to feel her tongue exploring
its taste, the shape of it

she’d like to ask the question
“do I truly want to die?”
in the hope that her brain
will give an honest reply
but instead, she stares in silence
and waits for the hurt to go by

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

23 thoughts on “The question

      1. Oh! Sorry, I missed it in there. I wasn’t awake yet when I got on here this morning. STILL not awake yet. Having lots of trouble with PVC’s at the moment and I’m just worn out from having them all the time. I might have to take a couple days off from blogging. Don’t know if the stress of the A to Z Challenge may have added to them.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Not much unless they get so close together that I’m passing out. Then I might be looking at a pacemaker. It just wears me out when my heart has to work so hard to get the sinus rhythm (or whatever they call it) back to normal. At least that’s what the cadiologist says…

            Liked by 1 person

        1. I think I’ll just stick with those three lines – which I misquoted anyway, to fit my own purpose.
          That reminds me – I have a bottle of brandy for emergencies – I always forget it’s there when I need it. Perhaps it’s for the best πŸ™‚

          Like

    1. Thank you for your kindness – it’s self-pitying drivel, and I’m ashamed of it. Although it didn’t feel that way at the time, I was pandering to my weaknesses. Many people occasionally feel like dying, but they don’t bore people with poetry about it. Yes, I’m being hard on myself, but it’s the quickest way for me to move forward. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

