Come into Oxfam

second-340.jpg

don’t diss me mistah, I’m a cool fashionista;
runnin’ with the times, an eco A lister.
coat from Oxfam, shirt from a skip,
shoes from my sister ‘cos they didn’t fit,
in vintage jeans and a pre-loved hat
over forty years old, but who cares about that?
I never understood; it’s always bin a mystery
why people didn’t wanna wear clothes with history.
but the world is changing and the wise understand
it’s time to start purchasing second-hand.
we’re over-producing, polluting the planet,
so stop over-consuming like a greedy gannet.
It you buy less new, it’ll slow production down,
saving precious energy the world around.
so come into Oxfam and rummage with me,
you never can tell what treasures you’ll see,
it’s better than the High Street shops in town;
come into Oxfam and look around.
your clothes are dull and the prices are steep,
with your trendy labels you look like a sheep,
or a mannequin standin’ in a window display,
wearing the fashion victims clothes of the day.
change your look, show your personality;
come into the Oxfam shop with me,
if you need help choosing I’ll give you a hand,
and when you walk out the door you’ll understand,
I’m runnin’ with the times; I’m a cool fashionista;
I’m an eco A lister.
You won’t diss me, mista.

ยฉJane Paterson Basil

32 thoughts on “Come into Oxfam

  1. I love that you have a poem about thrifting, because I think it’s the best! It’s a very fun activity (and a very fun poem :)). I’m particularly fond of the line: “I never understood; itโ€™s always bin a mystery/why people didnโ€™t wanna wear clothes with history.” That’s just a really neat way to put it/think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thrifting! I forgot to use that word – we don’t call it thrifting in the UK, but it’s such a great word. I wish I’d used it – think of the great rhymes – uplifting, gifting, drifting, sifting. Sifting is perfect. Damn! We should have got together on this one.
      I volunteer in an Oxfam charity shop, and I inadvertantly made the poem into an ad. for them. Maybe I’ll get on to head office and see if they can use it in some way…
      Thank you for your uplifting enthusiasm Kathleen. You always bring a smile to my face ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    2. Sorry to be a pain, but could you check your WP spam folder please – I’m having to ask a lot of people to do this, because for some reason my comments are being trashed by the spam bot, except on those blogs where my comments have been restored.
      I commented on one of your posts, and the message disappeared, so that’s where it will be.
      It’s driving me nuts; I can’t comment on new blogs because of this technical glitch…

      Like

    1. I’m having technical difficulties with my comments – when I go to a new blog any comment I post goes straight to the spam folder. I commented on your last post, and the comment disappeared. Would you be so kind as to restore it, please.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great advert for Oxfam! You should show it to them. Maybe they could use it for something! Their website is pretty sharp, too. It’s so cool you enjoy working there. Stef only ever buys 2nd-hand (unless she gets a gift certificate to somewhere else). She’s very thrifty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was thinking I may contact head office and throw the poem their way. It can’t do any harm.
      Good for Stef! It’s great that it’s gained popularity. When I was a child most of the families around our way relied on used clothing, but nobody admitted to it.
      My son used to feel humiliated if I so much as looked in a charity shop window!
      These days thrift is a virtue, like in war time ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Not going to happen. I know people want so much for there to be a global family, but man is too self-concerned to allow that when others don’t agree with his particular ideas. Even Jesus said “there are ALWAYS going to be wars and rumors of war.” But we work for peace despite that, don’t we…

            Liked by 1 person

  3. A great piece of Rap Jane.
    The Sugar Hill Gang comes to mind.

    I recently restored one of your
    comments from my spam folder.
    Hopefully you can now visit my
    new site. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have the feeling you don’t know who the Sugar Hill Gang were.
        They were a rap band in the 80s.

        And, in my opinion, they wrote one of the best anti-drug songs ever.
        It’s called White lines.

        Check it out on YouTube.
        Let me know what you think. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Thanks for putting me onto Grandmaster Flash. I agree – that version is a lot better. I scrabbled through my cupboard and found my speakers, so I could hear it properly. I think it must be the best anti-drugs song I’ve ever heard, too. I love the bit near the end where he’s singing Don’t do it, and it’s reverberating, so in the end it sounds like Do it. It reflects the total confusion that mind-altering chemicals bring about.

            Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re right, I didn’t. In the eighties I shed a tear for the demise of punk, closed my ears to anything new, and put Leonard Cohen /Steppenwolf /John Otway on the turntable.
          If my stupid laptop had a decent speaker (or I hadn’t mislaid my potable ones) I’d give you an informed opinion of that song. I’m not keen on their interactive, hand- clapping party style, but that’s not what matters – it’s the lyrics, which, unfortunately, I can’t hear properly, but if it’s an anti-drugs song, I like them anyway.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Jane. 1977. I hear this record on the radio.
            And it absolutely blew me away.
            What a waste.
            This guy was a beautiful poet and a master wordsmith.
            I had the privilege of seeing him live at the Shepherds Bush empire
            in 1982. A night I shall never forget.
            He is my main man.

            Ian Dury.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I first came across him on The Old Grey Whistle Test, and I’ve never been able to describe how it felt. No music has ever hit me that fast or that hard. For a while I could think of nothing but that song, the way he performed it, and even the way he looked. And you saw him live – at the perfect venue!
              There’s never been another like him. Yes, what a waste – what a loss.

              Like

            2. I’ve just checked youtube, and there’s no footage of Iaan Dury singing What a Waste on Whistle test – It must have been another programme.
              I’ve just been watching him performing I wanna be Straight. Thank God for the Sex Pistols (who I couldn’t stand) – if it hadn’t been for those irritating exhibitionists publicising the punk scene, Ian Dury and a few others with talent may have never have hit the limelight.

              Liked by 1 person

        1. That would present a beautifully incongruous image. Oxfam like to attract the young – I wonder how our youth would feel about a sixty year old rapper (who stammers when she’s nervous, BTW) ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

