AtoZ Challenge Reflection

A-to-Z Reflection [2016]

Writing a poem for every letter of the alphabet seemed like a relatively easy challenge, and maybe it would have been, normally. But these past few weeks have not been normal, although it could be argued that my life never is. Amongst other complications, I have a very troubled son, and the situation with him has been particularly traumatic recently.

I hadn’t planned my writing in advance, because I only noticed it and signed up a few days before the challenge began, and I was unable to comment on most of the other bloggers posts, as my comments aren’t showing up on any sites which don’t already know me, so that made me a bit of a Billy-no-mates, but I’m glad I did it. I wrote a couple of half-decent pieces, even though my brain tried to rebel. I dreaded reaching the letter X, because I had no idea what I was going to do with it. X-rays and Xylophones don’t inspire me to eloquence, and Xmas is unseasonable, in addition to being an ugly way to spell the word. I had to look through the dictionary to find something that would work for me, and I finally came up with Xenadochial – and Xenization. (Any chance of a bonus point for the extra word…?)

The previous day, as part of this same challenge, Calen, at Impromptu Promptlings, had published a thought-provoking post about hiraeth and that must have been on my mind when I wrote the post. The combination of that and the word – or more accurately, words – I chose, resulted in a ‘Eureka’ moment. So, writing a poem inspired by the one letter of the alphabet I didn’t want to have to deal with, gave me the answer to a question that had puzzled me since I was a child.

Challenges stretch the mind, opening it to new ideas and possibilities, and I’m grateful for this one.

©Jane Paterson Basil

5 thoughts on “AtoZ Challenge Reflection

Leave a Reply

