Difficult to believe

green-84649_960_720

It’s like those times after a wet summer,
when each brief spell of sun
allows you some sense of faith
before the next downpour steals that faith away.
then one day, when you are dressed for fine weather –
reflecting the morning’s temperate promise –
the rain shoots down with a vengeance,
drenching you with its pent-up rage,
blocking the drains and making a river of the street
before ceasing as suddenly as it came,
and the clouds all blow away
leaving a rainbow, like
a vow, or at least an apology.
As your sodden feet tread through the puddles,
you find it difficult to believe
there will be no storm tomorrow.

©Jane Paterson Basil

25 thoughts on “Difficult to believe

    1. You what? You don’t NEED to do more of anything – your writing is superb, though metaphor wouldn’t do it any harm.
      I use it because I see metaphors everywhere. Everything is a metaphor for something else.

      Like

    1. No – For some reason I can’t upload photos onto my computer. It’s a Getty image. That radio is nowhere near as attractive as mine – it’s the prettiest thing you can imagine, now that all the grease has been cleaned off it!

      Like

  1. LOVE this! I want to feature you in two weeks in my poet’s corner! And I want THIS to be one of two poems — oh crap! I already picked out one of your others from a few days ago as a favorite. Hm… Anyway, will you send me a little bio before then to put with it???

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve already written it – but I expect I’ll change it several times over the next couple of weeks 🙂
          I should keep a closer eye on your poetry corner – I should keep a closer eye on a few other things, come to that.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you, I love the rain. We’re getting quite a lot of it at the moment, so the garden’s thirst is being quenched and our rainwater tanks are filling up. Your poem works on many levels 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

