Fire, ice and ashes

tree-919055_960_720.jpg

I laze in bed, thinking of sunshine beyond my closed eyes; of gently billowing drapes in creamy shades, of trees painting bright shades of green against the sky; and of that favourite plate with the crack from rim to middle. It used to creak and grate when I lifted it. It irritated me, and I knew that one day it would break, but I couldn’t mend it or bring myself to throw it away. When it cracked in two I glued it together, and though it is not as pretty as when it was new, I love it better and my friends admire it as they never did before.

Fleetingly, I think of recent days and weeks, the pain and the final heartbreak, but they are as distant memories. I reject them.

I place my hand on my ribcage, feel my heart beating, and I almost rejoice. I notice that today I am not having to concentrate on not grinding my teeth, and I think:

So this is what it’s like to walk through fire, ice and ashes, and come out the other side.

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

36 thoughts on “Fire, ice and ashes

        1. Without crumbs there would be no cake. I have no idea what I mean by that, but it came to me and it sounds good, so please take it as a compliment – I really can’t be serious today. I’m going to squash an over-ripe banana on the floor and breakdance naked on it, or maybe I’ll stick a sheet of glass to the bottom of my shoe and tell people it’s a window to the sole πŸ™‚
          Hmm – that was somewhat random. It’s probably a good sign… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

          Liked by 2 people

  1. So this is what it’s like to walk through fire, ice and ashes, and come out the other side.

    My dear, you are a regular Daenerys Targaryen from “Game of Thrones!” And I think it’s safe to say you are the mother of at LEAST two dragons! I know you don’t have a TV so probably have never watched it. But trust me, that’s an awesome thing to be!

    And btw, could you send me your little bio for Friday and pick your favorite poem to go with it? I get to pick a second one!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fire – the pain ; Ice – facing the truth; Ashes – when fire meets ice only ashes remain.
      I should watch Game of Thrones online. One of my favorite comedic actors – Paul Kaye – played Thoros (seasons 3 and 6), and I got to know him when he holidayed at the camp site in Sussex. I love that guy!
      My favourite poem? That’s a big ask! I’ll go through them…

      Liked by 1 person

        1. He played Thoros – I don’t think it was a particularly large part.
          As for the poem – I’ve read through every poem on my blog, and it may be that my choice is the same as yours.
          I didn’t realize I’d written quite so many rants…

          Liked by 1 person

  2. How very well you put things, Jane. What wonderfully carved words – carved from pain, undoubtedly, but still a gorgeous creation. Crystal sharp images, as always. And yes, Calen’s right – GoT’s Dany is spot on. Paul Kaye was very good in GoT and I was glad to hear he was returning in series 6. He’s carved out quite a career as a character actor in recent years – he was in Jonathan Strange and Mr Norell too – and he’s really very, very good. Really watchable. Glad you liked him in real life. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He told me to watch Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, but he said it would be best if I read the book first.
      I embarassed myself by telling him I loved him – actually it was worse than that. I said “I love you – No, I MEAN IT! I LOVE YOU!” He took it in his stride and we got on really well. He promised to read a book that I’d like to see turned into a screenplay, with him in the starring role. (The Fan Man, by William Kotzwinkle – I’ve always seen Paul as the Fan Man.)
      I followed it up by talking to a comedic film producer who came to stay about how great it would be if he got together with Paul and did it – he knew and liked Paul anyway. Nothing came of it (yet?) but at least I tried.
      I’m going to have to watch Game of Thrones, aren’t I?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell is a great book. I read it before watching it too and the adaptation was perfection. He was very well cast – brilliant. You never know with The Fan Man, Jane. The wheels of film production turn very slowy – in a few years, who knows. We could hear this director being interviewed about how he came to make the film. ‘Well, it’s a funny story. I was staying at this camp site …’
        I have a copy of Jonathan Strange going begging if you’d like me to post it to you. πŸ™‚

        Like

        1. He promised me an invite to the premier…
          I’d love a copy of the book – I have a bit of an issue with books – as I refuse to buy anything new, I have to wait until the right ones turn up in a charity shop. I can’t buy them S/H from Amazon or Ebay because I mislaid my Paypal account, and can’t seem to get up the energy to sort it out.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. If you’re happy to email me your address, I’ll post you my copy – which was second hand when I bought it, so will be second-second hand at least! Have been holding on to it, knowing I’ll never read it again (it is a big book) but looking for a good home for it. None better than with you, Jane πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

            1. If it’s a big book the postage will be steep. I was going to suggest my niece could cycle over to you and pick it up – she lives in Bristol – but she’ll probably be in Greece for a few weeks. Ha! She offered me the loan of her place while she was gone – I should have accepted.

              Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh no.
        I thought WP had sorted the problem.
        Maybe others are having a problem as well.
        Do you still end up at my deleted site. 😟

        Liked by 1 person

            1. No – I got an email to say the problem was sorted out, and if I needed any more help to let them know, so I emailed back, to say that it wasn’t sorted out, and have heard nothing. That was weeks ago.
              Seems a lot of bloggers comments are being sent to spam folders, it’snot just me.

              Liked by 2 people

                1. What is going on with wordpress? Not only were two of your comments in my spam folder, but a whole load of other perfectly harmless messages. I’m getting really fed up with this. Surely WP know it’s happening…

                  Like

  3. Hi, Fab blog! I have just set up mine, but still in the very early stages – a few months old. Just making efforts to link in with fellow bloggers to improve our followers and get the word out there for us both. I would appreciate you having a peek at my blog, as I have published several posts. Feel free to like, comment, follow or just take a peek. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind remark. I found your comment in my spam folder – I don’t know what’s going on with WordPress at the moment, a lot of people are losing their comments in spam folders, including me. I’ve re-enstated your comment, but you may have trouble commenting on other blogs. It’s all very frustrating.
      I’ll take a look at your blog as soon as I’ve finished re-enstating all of the other comments that shouldn’t have ended up in this folder.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

