Cleansing

 

natural-cosmetics-1112

fresh floral soap
make me fragrant again
rinse away the stains of the day
free me of every newborn speck of pain
exorcise the itching shame beneath my skin
ease my aching spirit that it may swim in crystal rivers

my creases unfold as with cupped palms I inhale you
you restore me with your sweet foaming luxury
and when, fully refreshed, I leave you
your quiet kindness has sunk in
sweeping my coddled flesh
with the heady scent of
sunkissed meadows

©Jane Paterson Basil

8 thoughts on “Cleansing

        1. I trawl the shops for soaps with natural ingredients. I don’t wear make-up, I don’t drink, I buy clothes and non-consumables in charity shops, and I’m careful how much I spend on food, so I reckon I’m entitled to that luxury 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

