The virus that saved the world

blog28px

When the virus first hit, nobody knew what was going on. The characters of certain hard-nosed bankers and ultra-right wing politicians changed overnight. One of the early “victims” was Nigel Farage, who opened his house to a family of vulnerably-housed immigrants, suggesting they invite their friends to stay.

Office workers and shop assistants who’d previously turned their morning faces away from the homeless men and women sleeping in doorways, dashed to the cafes to buy them breakfast in a bun, thrust Lattes in cardboard cups into their dirt caked hands, and pulled little packages of sugar of of their pockets, asking “Do you…?”

The country was thown into chaos – those who had not yet been infected struggled to maintain the status quo, while their families, friends, neighbours and colleagues, were carrying out uncharacteristically good works. If they were rich, they ran around giving their shares to the poor, and their money to good causes. If they were poor they invited those even more unfortunate than themselves around for dinner and hugged strangers in the street.

As you can imagine, the economy collapsed, but it didn’t matter, because the movers and shakers who were infected – and there were more of them every day – lost interest in amassing yet more truckloads of money, insread turning their attention to taking care of the populance. The richest and the most intelligent got together to finally make the country work. All our services improved dramatically, and the nation became happy again – happy as they had never been before. Crime ceased to exist, hatred became extinct, and anger became a rare emotion which was easily dispelled.

Everybody in the country had caught the pandemic, and it’s currently spreading around the world. Donald Trump kicked up a fuss, screaming that an antidote needed to be found quickly. Naturally, as soon as he contracted it, he changed his tone. Now that there’s no need for a President he keeps himself busy carrying out charitable works in developing countries. It’s rumoured that he’s currently working with orphans somewhere in Africa, but nobody seems to know for sure. These days he’s a modest man who likes to keep a low profile.

Who would have thought that compassion was a virus? And who would have thought that a virus could save the planet?

Written for The Sandbox Writing Challenge #49. This week Calen says “Imagine yourself floating among these clouds in harmony with everyone and everything. What can you do to make that happen?” My answer is that I can try to create a compassion virus which is so virulant it’ll infect everyone on the planet.

I’ll need  a chemistry set…

©Jane Paterson Basil

41 thoughts on “The virus that saved the world

  1. What a brilliant idea, Jane and isn’t that a lovely thought – a compassion virus. If viruses can make us tired, grumpy etc, why can’t we have one that makes us love more freely.
    Love some of your ideas – all those powerful people no longer caring about money and status. Fantastic.
    You’ve nudged your way into a bit of sci-fi there, I believe. Lovely post, Jane 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If I had the interest, I think there could be a novel in this, but it’d be complicated and probably require far too much research. I’d hate it. I’d have to work out what would be likely to happen during the difficult settling-in period.
      Thank you for your kind words, Lynn 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Did I have a children’s story idea recently? I don’t remember. I wponder what it was about, and whether I wrote anything for it. Thanks for the link though, I’ll take a look as I have plenty of childrens stories – although they’re all for the under sevens 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Under sevens is fine, no worries. You will need a synopsis, though and 3 chapters. I was sure you had a book part done about an autistic boy – did I remember wrong? Sorry if so. Good luck if you do go for it and do let me know how you get on. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I think I may have omitted to mention that my children’s stories have very few words – they’re picture books without the illustrations (the only illustrator I know who’s good enough is my sister, but it’s not the kind of thing she enjoys doing, and she hasn’t got the time at the moment) but I’ll see what can be done. Thank you again xx

              Liked by 1 person

              1. They must be open to picture books and I believe publishers usually like to find suitable illustrators themselves, so you have no worries on that score. Good luck if you decide to go for it. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. Lovely to hear! Yep, I’m submitting my YA novel and my supernatural thriller work in progress – they don’t specify one sub only and the stories are in different categories, so I thought why not? I know the chances are slim, but any refining of my submission package is a good thing. Good luck, Jane and let me know how you get on 🙂

                    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL!!! Absolutely LOVED this! And I agree! There’s a book in the offing here. And what better age to start with than younger people. Infect them early and see what happens. This is excellent story telling, girlfriend! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great story! But in fact, this is the virus that would overtake the world if people would live their lives by following Jesus… it changes someone from the inside out, and the things that seem to matter so much in the world take their rightful place… It’s a radical way of life, and not for sissies… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

