Cardboard

bedroom-940248_960_720

Three dry rooms, free of infestation
whose roof sloughs off rain’s invasion
Sunlight filling my home by day
a view that carries me far away
may not sound much like luxury
but it feels like a lot to me

electric wires bringing light and heat
a fridge and freezer full of food to eat
a cooker and several sturdy pots
so I can cook that food and eat it hot
may not sound much like luxury
but it feels like a lot to me

And when at night my tired head
has had enough and I go to bed
a deep divan is waiting for me
and I drift off to sleep in luxury
while out in the rain the homeless lie
on flattened cardboard to stay warm and dry

homeless-man-833017__340.jpg

Written for The Daily Post #Luxury

©Jane Paterson Basil

18 thoughts on “Cardboard

    1. I’m so pleased not to be the only one who feels that way – every time I hear or see the word luxury I think of those sleeping on the streets, or starving in drought-ridden lands, or losing their homes in war-torn countries, and I feel rich.
      Thank you so much for the comment. It means a lot x

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Nice poem. I couldn’t think of a bloomin’ that to hook up with luxury. Guess I need to get me a different perspective. Our whole house is a luxury when you compare. Thank you for making me think about that.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. On the other hand, I’m sure your house is a hovel when you compare it with the home of a millionaire 🙂 It’s not easy to look at life from anywhere but where you are standing. Hey, that’s not a bad quote – I may tidy it up and post it later…

      Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you Kathleen. My mum used to say “There but for the Grace of God go I.” She invited them in for meals, showers and, if she could manage it, a change of clothing (She’d wash the dirty clothes by hand, as she had no washing machine). She was a better woman than I.

      Like

Leave a Reply

