That day

.

They told me I was growing and one day I would be an adult. I was old enough to know this must be so, but too young to truly understand.

Eyeing my tanned feet encased in their summer sandals, I thought: surely they’ve always been this distance from my face? When my mind reached back it seemed that I had ever changed.

It must have been the first time my three brothers had taken me beyond the end of our stony lane, and we stood for a moment by the backwoods signpost.

I was familiar with the road which twisted ahead, and the one that led to the right,
but we chose the untapped trail to the left, a thrilling path full of mysteries which I longed to see.

A jaded adult may have ambled and dashed past so many wild summer banks that they all looked the same, but to this happy child each one was unique.

In nearby hedges I had seen the wild glory of vetch and meadowsweet, I had bent with stained fingers to to pick wild strawberries, and I felt as if I had been breathing such beauty for eons, but this road and this day were beauty incarnate.

Above me the sky was a Van Gogh shade without the melancholy. The complex scent of miriad summer blooms attracted scores of butterflies, bees, and other flying insects, while beyond the buzzing in the still heat, birds sang and a distant tractor hummed as it harvested the wheat. Four of my five senses were being fed to a joyous fullness. The early morning dew had dried, leaving emerald nature glowing with health.

It was a perfect morning,
and in a moment of clarity I recognised myself,
knew that I fitted perfectly into the world
and I had no need to reach forward
to find out who I would be.

Written for The Daily Post Word Prompt #Reach

ยฉJane Paterson Basil

17 thoughts on “That day

                1. Apart from sticking to rules and constraints, and makking the woeds and rhythm taste great in the mouth, what I want is for my poetry to speak to the heart, but when I write it, all I know is that it speaks to MY heart – you tell me if it speaks to yours, and I have high regard for your opinion.

                  Liked by 1 person

    1. I mentioned it to my eldest brother the other day. He didn’t remember it – why should he? To him it was just another lovely morning of freedom, but I was new to it. It was a perfect day and my childhood followed on in the same vein, but that was the day I inherited the beauty of nature – a gift to share and pass on down through the generations.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

