Those loving words

rosa-1592918_1280.jpg

...........................My love arrives
                          disguised by night
                         when daytime eyes
                        are closed
                        in sleep.
                         So soft
                            he breathes
                               that he may hear
                                 me as I speak
                                  those never-ending
                                  loving words
                                 to the rhythm
                                of his heart;
                               those words
                               he's heard
                                so oft' before.
                                   He strokes my hair
                                       and holds me close
                                          and whispers words
                                           into my ear;
                                         repeats those words
                                   those loving words
                           those long forbidden
                     loving words
                that only I
            may hear.
         He fills my
       yearning soul
       with love
        that makes
            me whole
                and though
                    at daybreak
                      he may go
                       his heart
                       will ever stay
                      and through
                     the night we
                    speak of love
                    'til sun's harsh rays
                     steal him away
                       and when I wake
                           I wake alone
                               but even though
                                   my heart may ache
                                     I know with no
                                      uncertain faith
                                      that when
                                     I go to
                                  sleep again
                              he will return
                        to kiss my face
                     and hold me close
                    and whisper words
                    of endless love
                     and he will
                         fill my
                               dreams

ยฉJane Paterson Basil

16 thoughts on “Those loving words

        1. I do, but sometimes it takes a while ๐Ÿ™‚
          Between the ages of fifteen and seventeen my life was so bad that I pretended reality was just a series of nightmares, whilst my dreams were real life. My dreams were always good; they never let me down, and gave me the strength to survive my nightmare days.
          Yes! I survived and am surviving still – living, even. JOY ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Makes me think that he’s a succubus – or is it an incubbus – a spirit that seduces the sleeper in the night while they’re asleep. Gorgeous – love the rhythm of the words, the repetition, the feeling that it’s a chant that reinforces the idea that she’s under some kind of spell. Lovely work Jane

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You read it aloud! Thank you so much, Lynn, for giving it your full attention! I’m really proud of this one – I think it’s one of my best, but it hasn’t been particularly noticed.
      He sounds like an incubus, but he’s not. He wears a black shirt and black jeans throughout the dream. I wear blue. He lives twelve miles away, I haven’t set eyes on him for over 20 years, and that was only briefly, but for over thirty years he’s kept me from crumbling.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Frustrating when you write a ‘good one’ and it goes largely unnoticed, isn’t it? Well, I for one loved it. It flows so well and I’m not surprised it’s based on fact because it feels so real – it feels ‘right’ somehow. It’s a thing of beauty and I loved the shape of it too – it accentuates the sensuality of the words. Lovely, Jane

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

