Trigger

 

this time
we needed a
radical change;
I had to stand fast
no matter what he did;
I had made the connection;
my presence was a drug trigger
and each time he walked in
the trigger was activated,
it had to be broken
at whatever the
cost to him
or me
.
this time
he limped away
with nothing but anger,
a fractured toe, from kicking my door,
and a green woollen blanket;
to warm him on the
cold street
.
bits of
both of us
lay in fragments
as separately, we tended
or ignored our various wounds.
my victory cost me dear
but I feel hopeful
that something
has finally
shifted

~0~

trigger-collage

~0~

Written for The Daily Post #Radical

©Jane Paterson Basil

17 thoughts on “Trigger

    1. He’s got his girlfriend back in tow now, and she’s lost two friends to drugs in the last three months.She’s determined to get him to the residential home. Hope is not yet lost, but it’s a tough ride. It may even have put me off rollercoasters 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Raili. It’s my image – I put it at the bottom of the post because I thought the gun may be misleading.
      It’s been a horrible few days, and I’ve spent a lot of time in bed. When I go through trauma my body often takes control and forces me to sleep – I’m lucky in that way. I’m OK xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

