The woman in his life

I was always the woman in his life.
Through all of the abuse.
he knew he could rely on my love
and he loved me, he always loved me.

He stole my money and more;
he took all of the things he could sell.
I struggled to keep the heart beating in my chest;
I fought to keep those gems that fade when all is not well;
the seasons, with their soft and crisp textures and breath;
the goodnight kiss of each evening sunset;
each mealtime caress on the tongue.

As a last resort
I curled up in a tight ball;
with less inches exposed to the air,
less pain could enter my body
while I thought about:
the pull of the moon;
the ancient hills of my home;
the hazel eyes of a long-lost love;
the waves crashing on the cliffs at Porlock;
the thrill, as a child, of holding an unread book;
and soon I would unroll, take up my laptop,
and write much of the remaining pain away.

Just recently
I have been superceded
by a wild and lovely young rose;
who with one blow, has tamed my son.
so long I have waited for this day to come;
a day when he would cease tormenting me;
when my suffering would evaparate,
as my beloved child’s life
finally came together.

I celebrate
and am relieved,
while the edges of me
ache with the
grief of
loss.

The Daily Post #Together

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

32 thoughts on “The woman in his life

        1. People are very kind. They tell me I am strong. They tell me I am amazing. I’m flattered, but I’m just a normal mother fighting against the odds to keep my children alive, and to stay standing. I’m not strong. I collapse behind closed doors.

          Like

  1. It’s quite ironic in that sense, no? you want him to move on…but not so fast! I live with my in-laws so it’s a constant tug of war for my hubby. She’s happy that he has found me…but she is also unhappy because she thinks that she has lost him. Why does one have to give way to the other? We can both share and be a part of his life. And neither can take the other’s place. Does this help?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

