Talons

I was
so easily fooled;
soothed by her elfin smile,
her words and promises
spoken so smooth,
her wide eyes so sweet,
smothering motherly suspicion;
persuading me with lies
to trust her with
my son.

Guilty of so much,
and yet
innocent in love,
he is cut open;
gutted like a fish,
while she feasts on
the destruction.

if I told her
to take a hike
I’d be the bad guy.
I couldn’t win the battle.
she has bright toxic talons
that infect and cling;
there’s nothing I can do
to save him.

when
his sanity,
or his money, runs out,
she will scuttle,
then lithely slither
to yet another victim.
I see her next poor sucker
standing sadly in line
on the horizon
I even know his name.

I should pity
his minor part in her game
but all I will feel
is relief.

The Daily Post #Hike

©Jane Paterson Basil

16 thoughts on “Talons

  1. It was hard to click the like button on this -I wish WP had some other alternatives ! What a toxic person he has in his life. I hope she moves on soon. Not that I would wish the toxicity on to anyone else at all but as you way, it will be a relief.

    Liked by 1 person

                  1. So sad, I see the same need here. It’s something I have felt strongly about for decades. Especially so when I was working in MH services where so many of the older clients had been institutionalised most of their lives and knew nothing else. Then all of a sudden they are supposed to be able to live out in the community ! So cruel .

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. if our memories were wiped we could start back at the beginning with no expectations, and we wouldn’t miss what we had forgotten.
                      I would live beneath a canopy of trees, and crawl into a cave when it rained…

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

