Decorum

I was never stylish;
I can’t compete
with glittery conversation
or chic mode of dress;
hard as I try to be subtle
what you see is what you get.
but this time I will crack
in the style of a gnarled veteran
of bravely defeated battles;
an escapee from the prison camp
of chemical enemies.
I shall break with quiet dignity
and some degree of privacy;
concealing my tear-stained face,
calming the weighty beat my chest
and drowning the tiny whimpers
which issue without request.

I have reached a certain age;
a senior station in life;
I can sink with decorum
if nothing else,

and I will await my time,
then rise again.

The Daily Post #Stylish

©Jane Paterson Basil

29 thoughts on “Decorum

    1. Thank you so much, Jess! I’m honoured to be nominated by you. I feel bad about this, but I’m unable to accept the nomination. My blog is award-free – I just haven’t got around to displaying the badge to say so. That alone may give you a clue – I’m so chaotic that I can’t manage to do the award posts. In the past, on two separate occasions I accepted the nominations in theory, but didn’t manage to follow up my promise with the required posts. A couple of days ago I was nominated for a different award, and after explaining all this to the nominee, she said if I got offered another award I could throw it her way. This is her blog – who knows, you may like it enough to scratch out my name and replace it with hers 🙂
      https://thegratefuldeadblog.wordpress.com/

      Liked by 2 people

        1. It’s great – my nephew is such a funny guy. Iy always gives me a lift to see him. He’s off to Greece tomorrow, to work in a refugee camp – he’s done a lot of that lately – so I won’t see him for a while.
          Maybe I should join him…

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

