Seeing you again

tree-893273_960_720

as each day fades,
electric specks of yellow
dab across the urban scene,
and pools of synthetic illumination
stain the streets like nicotine.

evening traffic plays follow the leader;
an endless stream of petrol-soaked metal
looking for an escape
from the ever-increasing concrete heaps.

as night spills ink on the greasy river,
and windows, one by one, cease beaming,
I lie in my bed and feel my way to dreamtime;
jumping on a smokescreen bus which speeds me
to a remembered green place far away,
where I can select the weather;
the time of day; my age;
and my company.

I always summon the same details;
sunshine, early evening, seventeen,
and you; king to my falling queen.

we sit beneath an oak tree bent with history;
our secrets hidden in the depths of its tactful trunk.
this year’s leaves discreetly absorb
this rising night’s intimate whispers;
as together we lean,
making believe it is the last time we will meet.

this is my perfect dream,
repeated endlessly;
guaranteeing
I will always
see you
again.

The Daily Post #Tree

©Jane Paterson Basil

 

35 thoughts on “Seeing you again

    1. Thank you Calen. When I first moved into town I thought it was exciting; street lights and fish ‘n’ chip shops.
      I miss the stars, the sounds of tractors; sheep; cows, the harvest, the smell of wildflowers, the trees…

      Liked by 1 person

                    1. Break them up into short stories – or a series. Like I’ve done with Salma Butterfly and Buttons 🙂 I don’t think I could sit and write a whole book, but it seems I CAN if I do it in short spurts…mind you it’s a bit pretentious to call them ‘books’ as such. Well, kidlets’ books. Now I’m raving…..

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. I am -make sure you get a password with your confirmation. Calen says she has been getting lots of pre-course emails. I haven’t and had a hell of a time finding a way to contact them to make sure they had all me details. My poor IT skills 😦 They were very prompt in responding in the end.

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

