I ain’t a lady

….

...What do you      see  when         you   look 
     my way?   No;   you don't      have to tell 
       me; you  see   a     lady  who     looks  
         decent  for   her   age;   who  walks  
           with  confidence    and   sway;  a 
           lady with a passably  pretty  face 
         whose   sexy   shape    has    been  
       retained  well  beyond  its  sell-by 
      date;   a   lady   who    may     be 
        desperate   to   play   the  love 
          game:    hungry   enough   for 
            you to take. Well, get this, 
            mate; I ain't a lady; I'm a 
            woman  with a past, a life,
             a woman  with  riddles to 
              unwind;   a  woman  with 
              many   a   hidden  corner.
             get your  eyes  tested,  and 
           buy a better pair of specs, then 
          maybe you'll see inside my  frayed 
         border,  but   I   can't   guarantee
        that   you'll   like  what  you  find

what do you see
when you look my way?
no, you don’t have to tell me
you see a lady who looks decent for her age
who walks with confidence and sway
a lady with a passably pretty face
whose sexy shape
has been retained beyond its sell-by date
a lady who may be desperate
to play the love game

hungry enough
for you to take

well get this, mate
I ain’t a lady
I’m a woman with a past, a life,
a woman with riddles to unwind
a woman with many a hidden corner
get your eyes tested
and buy a decent pair of specs
then maybe you’ll see inside
my frayed border
but I can’t guarantee
that you’ll like what you find

The Daily Post #Border

©Jane Paterson Basil

36 thoughts on “I ain’t a lady

        1. I’m honoured!
          I checked out synonyms for Feisty. They ranged from Courageous to Ornery, and they all related to me!
          AND a tart is a delicious treat to be savoured; delicious on the inside, firm and crisp on the outside, and attractive to look at, often decorated with pretty details. 🙂
          Lots of love, the FOT
          PS. Or maybe I’m one of those soggy, revolting pre-packaged tarts, discounted because they’ve reached their sell-by date. I get soggy when I cry, and I often revolt. 😀 😀 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Most women in India, not trying to generalise it but still, tend to lose their confidence and sexuality in their late 30s and 40s. While the men of course count themselves among the youth till as long as possible. This difference in your culture and mine is fascinating. Good writing. Love the figure 😉

    Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s the way it should be. The people of your country have held on to their ancient wisdom, as well as their prejudices and injustice. If all the daughters of your country received a decent education and broke away from their bonds, India would be incredible.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. How can you break something you can’t see? Especially when it’s guaranteed to break the hearts of so many people around. Everything is about listening to elders and doing as they say. Questions are not allowed as they expose ignorance.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. That’s a difficult one. It’s going to be a slow process.
              I’m reminded of what a famous British feminist said about the asian tradition of wearing burqas – our advice and opinions are both rude and patronising, if we don’t understand the culture.
              You’re right, our cultures are very different, and I’d like to understand yours.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of being a woman – never a lady. Ladies have to keep themselves attractive (for their men) and musn’t do anything unseemly or do rude things or say rude things or be too funny or too clever. They’re precious, delicate creatures who need to be viewed and not touched.
    Nah, let’s not bother being one of those. I’d rather be a feisty old tart than a lady any day. Great poem as always Jane 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lynn.
      They also wear high heels, have outfits instead of clothes, have a large collection of handbags AND know which one goes with which outfit – and they think rucksacks and power drills are only for men.
      Yay! Feisty old tarts ROCK 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a ‘dressing up’ function to go to soon and par of me is dreading it! Dressing up as in proper ‘gowns’. I have a little black dress (very plain, round neck, 60s style) but will wear heels for no one! The most I’ll stretch to is trying to find a cardigan with sparkly thread in – and that I’m sure I shall never wear again! And I love a rucksack – rarely use anything else 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You have my sympathy (not: not empathy – that requires an understanding of the problem, and it’s so long since I made an effort that I can’t remember what it was like 🙂 )
          How did I know you’d be a fellow rucksacker, I wonder… 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

