Terminal flattery

toilet-34071_1280.png

Flattery may be fine when you have the time
Though it often works better with a gallon of wine
But don’t try it with me because I don’t drink
I’ll pour all your booze in the kitchen sink
And if you try to flirt I’ll make mincemeat of you
Take you to the bathroom and flush you down the loo.

What was that you said? You like my lips?
The softness of my skin and the curve of my hips?
You like my poise when I walk across the floor.
I think you’re sincere, and I could listen to more
Though you’ll only see my bedroom if you marry me.
I’ll lock us in together and throw away the key.

I don’t understand why you’re backing away
A moment ago you had lovely things to say.
You’ve changed your mind about my hips, lips and skin,
So you won’t be going out the way you came in.
False flattery is forcing me to do this to you,
Soon you’ll be mincemeat swirling down the loo

The Daily Post #Flattery

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

35 thoughts on “Terminal flattery

        1. To stop me spinning out of control – the needle of my sensometer is hovering close to ‘danger.’ I want to climb out of my window, stand on the narrow ledge and clean the glass, grasping the frame with one hand to keep from falling. Each time I My recovery includes a lot of laughter, but I have to straighten out when I start wanting to risk-take. Once I’m settled again I can return to my normal level of silliness.
          In some ways I’m chaotic – forget to eat, don’t go to bed some nights, go to appointments on the wrong day, etc., but in order to be well I have to follow certain patterns and rules. It pays off.
          You asked! πŸ™‚ It’s OK,

          Liked by 1 person

                1. Scary question! Nobody ever asked me that before. Honestly? I don’t know. I was always a risk-taker – a show-off. Nobody had the courage or balance to do what I did.
                  When things get bad I feel myself jump out of my body, and leap onto the open window frame. I have to pull it back. It’s very frightening, but it reminds me that I don’t want to die.

                  Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know where any of this came from – I was in a hurry to write it because I had a meeting to go to. When I’m in a rush to write a poem somebody always seems to end up dead.
      I’m not sure what that says about my psyche πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

