Autumn’s cruel joke

tree-9985

Beyond my window,
Autumn beckons with false promise.
Bare branches bend their beckoning fingers
before the blue beyond where cottonwool clouds meander.
Baby breeze murmers at fall’s command;
“See the beauty,” it seems to say,
“I’ve mended the weather.
Come to me and I will fill your dreams;
Let you live one remembered childhood Sunday.
Come outside, come outside, and breathe my carefree air;
run with me, prance with me,
spin and dip and dance with me.
Be a child again.”

But I hide behind my door where I am safe
from those autumnal lies which taunt me so cruelly;
I know if I trust them, the spell will evade me.

A trick of the light will lead me to wander
in search of the joy of yesteryear’s freedom.

The brow of the hill will pull me toward it,
and when I arrive the goal will be yonder,
down in the valley, then on to the river,
and still my yearned-for destination;
those faraway trees and lush green meadows,
will be around many corners,
long miles beyond me.

A storm will steal up.
Thunder will crack,
and darkness will cover
the land all around me.
Rain will pelt me,
and flood will drown me.

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

30 thoughts on “Autumn’s cruel joke

  1. One physical life, seems so important when disconnected from the broader canvas of life. The point, the goal, methinks, is not to try and relive some pleasant past moment but to learn from remembrances as we strengthen ourselves and brace ourselves to meet the definite future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay, that poem doesn’t refer to the way I’m feeling. There was a particular light in the sky which momentarily reminded me of childhood. I focused on it purely for the purpose hacking into an alternate stream of consciousness in order to write the poem. I’m under a lot of stress at the moment and I don’t feel very inspired.
      I totally agree with what you say.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nice to hear from you Jane – been thinking of you. Good to have a break from blogging though, hopefully come back refreshed and inspired. Lovely to see you writing. Hope everything is well with you, all my best πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Either way, glad you’re okay Jane. And I hope interesting translates into great. Thanks so much for reading all those posts – that kept you busy for a good while! Thank you – your support means a great deal πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Raili. We are told to live in the moment, but to do so is to deny ourselves memories, and the significance of those memories. I think there are times when wistful longing should be allowed. What is the point of life if each moment is no more than a moment, like a grain of sand; if we deny the past and the future?
      Few people can see the world in a grain of sand.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You don’t have to apologize πŸ™‚ I seriously come here because I really enjoy reading what you write. This time of year is usually hectic for everyone. Just take care of yourself and know you have a fan πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

