A bigger deal

pound-414418__480.jpg

I know your every whim should be my top priority;
your youth implies importance; you’re a bigger deal than me.
You’re short of cash? I’d better dash off with my debit card,
and get your dosh; it doesn’t wash to tell you times are hard.

I may not have enough to pay for eggs and milk and bread,
but I must aid you, as you claim a price upon your head.
You state your case as if you lie, but why should I complain?
I’m probably mistaken, due to water on the brain.

You said you needed thirty, but now sixty’s not enough
to dole out to your dealer; your afraid he’ll cut up rough.
If he don’t get ato least a ton he’ll fracture both your knees;
So here you go now sweetie, I’ve a thousand, take it please.

I shouldn’t be so greedy, I shouldn’t need to eat.
I needn’t spoil my Grandsons with some silly Christmas treat.
I shouldn’t be so selfish, you’re a bigger deal than me;
I know your dirty drugs should be my top priority.

<> <> <>

Before my friends get the idea that this is still going on, I should explain – it was written for a contest which required a sarcastic poem. In the end I didn’t use it.

ยฉJane Paterson Basil

18 thoughts on “A bigger deal

  1. You know, my Jane, I got a real shock when this popped up of my face book site. Don’t know how it got there. but I do know why you wrote it, who you wrote to, and for, and you know I’m on your side now and for ever. xxAnton

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi I already follow your fab blog, so thought I would share that I am super excited as I am officially in the running for the UK BLOG AWARDS 2017! If you could click the link and choose FoodandDrink&Lifestyle on the drop down menu:
    http://blogawardsuk.co.uk/ukba2017/entries/forkwardthinkingfoodinista
    Thank you kindly in advance your vote is much appreciated๏Š
    Melanie xx
    https://forkwardthinkingfoodinista.wordpress.com/2016/12/15/stop-there-is-still-time-to-have-your-say/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

