Setting Goals

Goal.jpg

So… I signed up to start a blogging University Course on the 5th… then promptly forgot all about it, so I have to catch up.

The course is called Blogging: Branding and Growth. It comes at the tail end of a Shaw Academy course I signed up for, and haven’t properly followed. I need to stamp on thisย  pattern that seems to beย  emerging. It should be easier to stick with this course, as there are no webinars, which I don’t enjoy. I prefer reading to listening to some voice droning on… and on…

I selected this course with a view to starting my new blog, which is intended to help addicts into recovery. The first task we are given is to write down three goals. As most people are doing this course for the benefit of their current blog, their goals will probably differ from mine.

  • Goal No. 1:

Publish my first post on the new blog by Monday 3rd April. This may seem like a long way ahead, but given my erratic mood changes, and the strange events which keep looming up and distracting me, it may be cutting it a bit fine.

  • Goal No. 2:

Pick up at least 20 followers in the first ten days.

  • Goal No. 3:

Trawl the site for all related blogs I can find, comment on their posts, and follow. Get noticed. Follow at least 20 sites in the first 14 days.

I don’t know whether or not these are good, or practical, goals. We’ll see.

38 thoughts on “Setting Goals

  1. I know what you mean about the voice droning on and on… I have managed to follow it by listening to the replays in my own time. There’s one more session left. I sit and take notes like I’ve always done through uni. It helps me to concentrate and capture the essence of what’s being said. It has had its useful bit, but I’m finding it a bit repetetive now and I’m getting annoyed with some of it, lol. That’s just me – not everything resonates.
    Good luck with this one, Jane ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be interessted to see hwat you make of it so I can decide whether to do it or not. There’s an incentive for you – critique it for me and make a recommendation ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. OK. I have a feeling it’s going to be worthwhile, as it’s tailored for WP, plus WP tend to leave out the stuff that we don’t need to know. I like the fact that it’s task-orientated, so we get down and do what’s required straight away – except I haven’t. But I’m on it.

      Liked by 1 person

                1. You get tasks to do, and can carry them out or not as you wish. The tasks are emailed, so you have them to hand. I haven’treached the bit about SEO, so I don’t know if it will be any use to me, but it may be good to do the course, as it’ll push you into looking at the details of your blog, and whether you want to change anything…

                  Liked by 1 person

                    1. You’re telling me – I’ve done days 1 and 3 tasks for this course, and now I’m trying to do day 2 – which I’d have to do even if I wasn’t on the course (it’s designing my new blog, as I’m not working on the current one) I don’t even know what days 4 and 5 consist of! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. I did one of their blogging courses and disliked it too – found it really hard to stick with. In the end I followed a build your own wordpress website which was a 3 hours long youtube video that was completely practical and the language of the SA course at least fell into place, but now I had a way to implement it. What are you planning for you new blog?

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh my, my memory! I remember now!! I’m doing their photography courses now and don’t feel quite the same even though webinar based. I think I expected more real interaction, seeing other students’ inputs etc. Now I know what to expect with them so can put my initial negativity aside.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I can see they have something to offer, but the amount of useful information didn’t match the time spent listening to history lessons, repetitions, and the guy telling us he was about to have a drink of water.
          I tink I had the wrong expectations, too.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. I think your goals are good ones and realistic considering the following you already have on this site – finding 20 new followers, for instance should be pretty easy. Good luck wiht it all Jane and hope the course goes well

    Liked by 2 people

            1. I’m back on it now, and in between I’ve even found the energy to clean and tidy my flat – and find my electric drill so I can put a up a couple of African wall hangings that I picked up (for a quid!) in a charity shop.
              I haven’t found the drill bits and rawlplugs yet… ๐Ÿ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m embarrassed about my goals – since I posted that, I’ve realised that, at the moment, I can’t commit to the new blog that I planned to start, as my life is too complicated, and I’d have to give it my attention every day.
      I just checked out your blog, and I wanted to reblog your first post, because it’s so good, but there was no reblog button. I thought they showed up automatically. All I can do for the time being is post a link to your post.
      Here’s the thing though – I realise it’s unlikely, but you sound like someone I know. Like I said, unlikely…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

