Be Bold

internationalwomensday

Don’t be too nervous to challenge inequality.

Today is International Womens Day. There are many ways to support the causes of women throughout the world. Find out more HERE.

For me, two issues stand out above the rest; they are ones which already have a lot of my attention, but I plan to:

  • Take more opportunity to campaign against violence and abuse, whatever the age, gender or race of the perpetrator

“For most of recorded history, parental violence against children and men’s violence against wives was explicitly or implicitly condoned. Those who had the power to prevent and/or punish this violence through religion, law, or custom, openly or tacitly approved it. …..The reason violence against women and children is finally out in the open is that activists have brought it to global attention”. Riane Eisler

  • Focus more on education for women in developing countries

“If you educate a man, you educate one person. If you educate a woman, you educate a nation”.

What will you do? It doesn’t have to be a lot. Having the courage to calmly speak up against injustice – when the opportunity arises – will help fertilise the soil in which other seeds may grow.

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world”.  Mahatma Gandhi.

If you’re interested in doing more, you can find a list of

  • womens rights organisations HERE
  • human rights organisations HERE

Written for The Daily Post #Nervous

©Jane Paterson Basil

15 thoughts on “Be Bold

  1. Great post, great points. If this stupid new health care bill by the Republicans gets passed, it’s very anti-women’s health. Kind of worried about that. It even takes away a new mother’s right to 6 weeks off to be with her baby. If they want to do that they have to buy a “rider” of some sort. And what family with a new baby can afford that! I’m so angry — again! All the time…

    Liked by 4 people

      1. I wonder… Trump is saying he wants to separate children from their mothers when they come over the border from Mexico. I can’t think of anything more traumatic for these women who have crossed two countries to get here with their kids only to be thrown in jail and have their kids taken away. That WAS my big question. What is he planning to do with the children? I’m sorry to say this doesn’t seem like MY country anymore…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s something empowering about speaking up about an injustice. Your post reminded me of a time I witnessed a colleague bullying someone in her team very publicly and very insensitively. I was new in my post then and never felt so uncomfortable and berated myself so much for not stepping in. I vowed never to be a passive bystander again. A couple of years later, (with some experience of breaking up testosterone fuelled fights between lads added to my CV), almost exactly the same situation occurred. I’m happy to say, I was no passive bystander. But getting over the discomfort of doing it once kind of equips you for dealing with future injustice. And you don’t have to be loud, big or bolshy to do it.
    I like how you’ve picked your causes. I found that to have a focus – something I stand for has enabled me to be more proactive and determined about what I’ll speak out about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

