Scars

scar.jpg

.

Their persistant weapons
find a hundred ways to break you.
They split your tender flesh.

~o~

It’s happened
so many times before.
Seems like forever.

~o~

Scar tissue sits thick on elastic skin.
You examine each chilling wound
as it knits into a jagged seam.

~o~

Insecure
after quivering years
of enemy ambush and friendly fire,
you stand guard for a while,
examining shadows.

~o~

Time
ticks softly.
Hushed fairy stories
invite slumber.

~o~

As soon as your limbs relax,
a trickster attacks from behind,
slicing bright scarlet gashes
across faded scars.

~o~

This time,
you remind yourself
that you have survived countless conflicts,
and still you refuse to be beaten down.
Your wounds leave deep lines,
but they always heal.

~oOo~

The Daily Post #Heal

©Jane Paterson Basil

14 thoughts on “Scars

    1. Yes. They tell our history and may shape our future…
      I’m a gardener. Lately I’ve been pruning roses, and weeding around them. I have an aversion to gloves, and I don’t take care to avoid the thorns. This way I can work better, but my hands and arms get covered in scratches and cuts. These days I hardly notice them. Sometimes a thorn beneath the skin is hard to extract, so I leave it to get infected, when it comes out easily.
      So, sometimes I can minimise the pain, and sometimes I have to sit through it, but it matters little either way.
      You get used to most things in time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

