She embraces life

embracinglife1.jpg

.

She lives.
Rising from her dank decline
she washed away the filthy film of blighted years
and fixed me with a fullsome smile,
her lips, her cheeks, her gleaming eyes
alive with shining rhapsody.

<@

She lives
and if I danced a step for every tear I shed
and sang a note for every time I feared she’d die,
it would be a fitting tribute to the joy she brings,
but I would sing and dance my life away
in honour of my risen child.

<@

She lives…
released from dark captivity
 where mind and matter had no hold,
she stands strong, a miracle of growth.
Elegantly engaging with the world,
she thinks of better things
and speaks her mind.

<@

She lives,
a brave surviver.
Her heart aligned to authenticity,
  Celebrating, she embraces me.
  She is alive.

<@

©Jane Paterson Basil

39 thoughts on “She embraces life

  1. Delighted to have read this lovely inspiring poem after a long day working on a political campaign! It’s a wonderful poem with a great spirit in it of rising and to me, metamorphosis.

    Thank you for the gift!

    Blackbird

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Blackbird. It hadn’t occurred to me but metamorphosis is an apt word for my daughter, who came out of psychosis and into drug recovery against all expectations. A year ago she was hanging on to life by a thread.
      I wish you luck in your campaign – I assume it revolves around the issues covered in your fiction. In the UK things have improved in that area, but we still have a long way to go.

      Like

    1. It’s been a long struggle, naturally, and I expect it will be years before I overcome the moments of terror that hit me now and again, but that’s par for the course.
      I never forget that I’m one of many.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. My daughter was a victim of DV, but she got out immediately after the first beating. She’s also an addict. My poem may have been misleading – it’s her recovery from drugs that it refers to. A year ago she was a high-risk case. The services that were in touch with her warned me that her organs were breaking down, and death may be imminent. It was the love and support of my blogging friends that brought her back. Their prayers and messages made her feel worthy.
          My friend Anton, and many others, would say it was God’s love that saved her. I’m not sure what God is, so I can’t comment.
          I think I’ll check out Secretangel…

          Liked by 2 people

    1. She’s well and happier than I can ever remember seeing her. She says she never wants to live in this town again, she loves where she’s living. She’s going to learn car mechanics, which she’s wanted to do for years. It’s like she’s just emerged from a christalis into a world she’s never properly seen before.
      Her lower lip is still slightly swollen, where her tooth sunk in when she was beaten up. I’m worried it may stay that way.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There are many Lauras in this lecherous world and people like you strive to save them from the clutches of doom…hope others also take the mainstream from the fringes of life…happy for you and Laura….you can help others by blogging or writing a memoir of the struggle of your life and the eventual success for yourself and your daughter…😊😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I wrote a momoir last year. It covered the fifteen years of my two youngest children’s addictions. At the time both of them were still using. Now Laura is clean, and my son also appears to be. When I read the story back I realised I couldn’t get it published as it may be too humiliating for them, and uncomfortable for the rest of the family. I’m now thinking about editing it carefully, and letting them both read it through. If they approve it, I’ll go ahead and try to find a publisher.

      Like

      1. Take them into confidence before you narrate it to the world…or else you can always use fictitious character for your essay of struggle…what is important is that it should reach people who are facing this issue…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I think it may be best to go for the fictional. That way I can be brutally honest without hurting them – though I’m not yet sure whether it will work as fiction. I haven’t looked at it for a while.

          Like

Leave a Reply

