Mona Lisa

Mona_Lisa,_by_Leonardo_da_Vinci,_from_C2RMF_retouched.jpg

.

Through history’s patina, she smiles,

sending a message of  loss and misery,

……thickly veiled beneath layers of candy fantasy,

………as she dreams of multitudinal possibilities

…………that may make her free.

.

The rusting cove leads to open sea,

but many decimating perils may precede it.

……Like the child within me, she longs to be cast adrift

………from the secret behind her smiling sheen.

…………In silence, Mona speaks to me.

.

The Daily Post #Adrift

©Jane Paterson Basil

16 thoughts on “Mona Lisa

    1. Yes, but not by me, until now. This is my reaction my smile being compared to hers, when I was in my teens. I found it really irritating.
      I prefer Van Gogh’s work – and that of a lot of other artists, to the painting of poor old Mona.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Maybe … now there’s a thought? It is also said that it is Leonardo himself, in drag, women’s clothes? Having seen the painting once, in the Louvre. A long time ago. I was hard pressed to find it as magnificent as we are led to believe. It was hard to stay then, for the line of tourists was pressing to gawk.

            I like art galleries. I sit and watch as people wander to see the art. Standing usually for just a few seconds before moving on, to the next exhibit. How can you truly see, these things if not stopping, to view for long enough? One of my personal faves was the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam. Where there was a place on the stairs, that you could see almost all of the paintings from one point. I like most of his paintings. Who does not?

            The Rijksmuseum was also good. It houses more than Dutch painter’s work. Thought the list of painters there, in one place, seems unparalleled. Like others, my favourite is Rembrandt. The Master of darks and light.

            Like

            1. I’ve been to the Louvre. I wasn’t going to bother to see the Mona Lisa, since the museum houses so many paintings which I consider far more important, but my ex insisted I should take a look at the most famous painting in the world. As I stood on tiptoes behind the crowd – briefly, just to get it over with – all I could think about was that somewhere in the building was a room full of the work of the greatest artist who ever lived, and I wanted to go there. Being surrounded by Van Gogh’s paintings was a moving experience for me; I’d thought I knew how beautiful his paintings were, but the pictures in the books I’d poured over since about the age of six didn’t even begin to do justice to the originals. It brought me to tears. I visited the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam a few years later, but it didn’t affect me in the same way – although it affected me enough to wipe out a lot of my memories of going to the Rikjmuseum the previous day. However, maybe that was what changed my opinion of Rembrandt. I’d never had any interest in him before.
              Seeing original works can change your view of an artist. For example, I never rated John Singer-Sargeant before I saw an exhibition of his work. His talent for bringing portraits to life was uncanny.

              Like

Leave a Reply

