New Horizons

ship unmoored.jpg

Built well,
but not yet strong enough
to take the heartless weight of dark cargo
dumped deep in her unready  hold,
the beautiful boat became unmoored
from the harbour of her home.

Her anchor slipped through shifting sands
as the ship’s sails were buffeted
by each errant gust of wind.

The rudder broke, the bowsprit split,
the fo’c’sle ghosts awoke and moaned
whilst helplessly she floated to and fro,
sometimes so close that her landlocked crew
had high hopes that they may reach her —
but each time the wild waves beat them back,
leaving them treading water, and her bobbing on the sea,
growing smaller as the winds ripped her sails
and whipped her away.

Gails attacked her lonely deck.
Sea brine ate her failing timbers,
cracked her weakened keel, and seeped into her hull.

At the stroke of doom, a miracle occurred;
drawing her to safer waters.
The tainted cargo began melting away,
and her anchor finally held sway.

When the big ship sailed her way,
its kindly captain saw this brave, but ailing boat.
Throwing her a lifeline, he led her to a safer shore,
where he forged a golden anchor,
replaced her broken parts, reinforced her base,
and painted her in brightest shades,
that she may proudly sail again.

Dedicated to David. You rock!

PS Love to Laura. I see you sail and I’m proud of you. xxx

The Daily Post #Unmoored

©Jane Paterson Basil

32 thoughts on “New Horizons

        1. About five years ago I sent a publisher an introductory letter about a childrens’ story, and got an email back to say they weren’t currently taking on new authors. The terror that I felt when I clicked send wasn’t worth the disappointment of instant refusal.
          Maybe I could try again with poetry, but poetry is less mainstream…

          Liked by 1 person

          1. maybe enter a few competitions or send to Posit or a few on line publishers so others at least get the opportunity to read you?
            No shame in an instant refusal, just means that they weren’t taking new authors as they said. JK Rowlings had 16 refusals before she self published so it proves publishers don’t know much …

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I’ve entered and won a few competitions on an online writers site – but that’s no big deal. I’ve never heard of Posit.When I Googled it, it just came up with definitions of the word.
              Maybe I should look at online publishers, now my life is calming down.

              Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m just glad it usually happens when I’m at home alone… it’s been almost constant today – mind you, I’ve been talking to a young friend whose dad wandered out of hospital the other day and disappeared. Three days later his body was found at the bottom of a garden. She’s stopped her anti-psychotic meds, to let the spirits in. She says her dad will protect her. I’m worried she’s not protecting herself at this vulnerable time.
          Here I go again, dropping my crap on you 😦

          Liked by 1 person

          1. What a sad story. I hope she will be OK. You can drop your crap on me any time, you know that! Besides, when the tears want to flow, they will flow regardless of where you are. PTSD is partly responsible for that – the triggers can come at you out of the blue. I’m of course assuming that’s the foundation for some of your tears.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I suppose it is… I may have told you I got involved with Wendy, a street sleeper, recently, and I was in constant floods of tears over her, but I realised it was transference… I don’t like crying about Paul, or even thinking about him.
              Wendy’s just been housed, thank goodness.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Rough sleepers have been on my mind here this winter too – a handful of us are providing what food we can. It’s a cold and wet winter here this year. The thought of sleeping out in the open horrifies me 😦

                Liked by 1 person

                1. There are so many empty, ignored properties… things have been worse over here since they put a stop to squatting. My brother opened a squat almost 45 years ago – a seven bedroom house that had lain untouched for 12 years. thanks to him, no one slept on the streets for a couple of years, until they kicked him out. A night shelter opened, but the rules were impossible for addicts. I was young and my friends didn’t die, but a friend died of pneumonia on the streets that winter.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. We too have many empty properties that could be put to use as emergency accommodation. Some of the shelters here are good, but dependent on donations as government funding is not enough, especially now in the depths of winter. Some of the shelters are vile with corrupt staff who eat the food, terrorise and rape people seeking a night of shelter, and charge prices that the homeless can only afford once in a while. So wrong……

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. There are always those who will abuse the vulnerable…
                      We haven’t had a night shelter in Barnstaple for years… we have this amazing place called the Freedom centre where the homeless (and anybody else who wishes) can get a meal five days a week, and they also sort out housing, and give away clothes and bedding. They have showering facilities, computers, pool tables, a gym, people to advise on all sorts of problems. When the weather was cold they used to let the homeless bed down on the floor, but they did so illegally, and the authorities put a stop to it…
                      Paul took me there for a meal once, and afterwards I was led into a side room for an assessment. I explained that I didn’t need their services. They said I could refuse, but it’s something they like to do for anyone who visits, to see if there were any needs they could address. They’re lovely people.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. We could so use one of those here – several probably. Here if the temperature goes below 4 deg C overnight all the shelters have to open their doors to take in as many people as they can accommodate using mattresses on the floor.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. That’s something, at least. It’s the only thing we don’t have for them in this town. The Freedom Centre has to turn them out – but they’ve opened a couple of recovery houses.
                      Laura told me last week that she often slept on the street – she hid it from me at the time. She said that was one of the factors that made her determined to go into recovery.

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

